Beehive Boot/Oquirrh Bucket | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Beehive Boot/Oquirrh Bucket

Beehive Boot

First instituted in 1971, the Beehive Boot is the symbol of gridiron supremacy in the state of Utah. The idea for the rotating trophy originated with Dave Schulthess, former Sports Information Director (SID) of BYU, and was agreed upon by SIDs from Utah, Utah State and Weber State. As the trophy would represent dominance within the confines of the Beehive State, it was decided hat the trophy should be symbolic of the people Utah was built by--the Mormon pioneers.

Finding a suitable pioneer boot for used as a trophy proved to be a difficult task. As pioneers wore their boots until there simply wasn't much left of them, there weren't many pioneer boots lying around. After an arduous search that included numerous personal calls and radio announcements, Tom Beasley, an antique dealer living in Cache Valley donated a pair of boots for use as the trophy. Estimated to be 100 or more years old, the Beehive Boot is an authentic piece of Utah History.

If Utah's teams should end the season with identical records against instate opponents, a winner is chosen by vote of the in-state media who covered the school's games. This situation has occurred twice in the history of the boot (1973 and 1997) and Utah State was given the trophy each time.

Old Oquirrh Bucket

The Old Oquirrh Bucket (named after the Oquirrh Mountains to the west of Salt Lake City) is the symbol of in-state basketball supremacy in Utah. Each year the trophy is awarded to the in-state college team (Utah, BYU, Southern Utah, Utah State and Weber State) which has the best won-loss record against in-state competition. BYU has claimed the Bucket nine times since its inception, including last season.

Beehive Boot

1971 Utah State

1972 Utah State

1973 Utah State

1974 Utah State

1975 BYU

1976 BYU

1977 BYU

1978 Utah

1979 BYU

1980 BYU

1981 BYU

1982 Utah State

1983 BYU

1984 BYU

1985 BYU

1986 BYU

1987 BYU

1988 Utah

1989 BYU

1990 BYU

1991 BYU

1992 BYU

1993 Utah

1994 Utah

1995 Utah

1996 BYU

1997 Utah State

1998 BYU

1999 Utah

2000 BYU

2001 BYU

2002 Utah

2003 Utah

2004 Utah

2005 Utah

2006 BYU

2007 BYU

Old Oquirrh Bucket Winners

1974-75Utah State

1975-76Utah State

1976-77Weber State


1978-79 BYU

1979-80 BYU



1982-83Utah State

1983-84Utah State

1984-85Utah State

1985-86Weber State



1988-89 Utah

1989-90 Utah

1991-92 BYU

1992-93 Weber State


1994-95 Utah

1995-96 Utah

1996-97 Utah

1997-98 Utah

1998-99 Utah

1999-00 Weber State

2000-01 BYU

2001-02Utah State



2004-05Utah State

2005-06 Utah

2006-07 BYU

2007-08 BYU

Tags: Feature