BYU awarded the 2015-16 Deseret First Duel | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

BYU awarded the 2015-16 Deseret First Duel

PROVO, Utah – For the fifth time in the competition’s nine-year history, BYU clinched the Deseret First Duel title over rival University of Utah. Deseret First Credit Union President/CEO Shane London and Vice President Trena Anderson awarded BYU its plaque for the 2015-16 season at a special celebration in the BYU Student Athlete Building on Monday.

The Cougars captured the 2015-16 Deseret First Duel title with a score of 21-14. BYU claimed Deseret Duel trophies in women’s soccer, women's volleyball, women’s basketball, men's swimming and diving, men's tennis, softball and baseball. Utah collected its points in men’s basketball, women's swimming and diving, gymnastics and women’s tennis.

The BYU vs. Utah rivalry is one of the oldest in the country. In November 2005, the Wall Street Journal rated the rivalry the fourth best in college athletics.

The Deseret First Duel began in 2007 when BYU and Utah partnered with Deseret First Credit Union to create a series that would celebrate one of the nation’s oldest and most spirited college rivalries. Previously there had been no established series to recognize the athletic supremacy of the BYU-Utah rivalry.

The university that wins the Deseret First Duel each year has its name permanently engraved on large granite monuments located at both schools and holds bragging rights for the coming year. Below is a list of the year-by-year winners of the Duel.

2008 – BYU

2009 – Utah

2010 – BYU

2011 – BYU

2012 – BYU

2013 – Utah

2014 – Utah

2015 – Utah

2016 – BYU

Desert First Credit Union was established in 1955 for LDS Church employees and continues to serve the LDS community, including BYU and other related entities. DFCU is a proud sponsor of BYU Athletics and the Deseret First Duel rivalry series.