BYU wins WCC Institutional Sportsmanship Award | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

BYU wins WCC Institutional Sportsmanship Award

(Photo by West Coast Conference)

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The 2011-12 WCC Institutional and Individual Sportsmanship Award winners were announced last week at the third annual West Coast Conference Honors Dinner in Coeur d'Alene, ID, with BYU earning the 2011-12 WCC Institutional Sportsmanship Trophy.

BYU was named the Institutional Sportsmanship Award winner after winning sportsmanship awards in the sports of men's cross country, women's volleyball, men's basketball and baseball. Athletic Director Tom Holmoe accepted the award on the school's behalf.

Saint Mary's Doug Herrick and San Diego's Madison Levine were named the 2011-12 WCC Individual Sportsmanship Award winners.

All sportsmanship award winners were voted on by the WCC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), a group of student-athletes with representation from each WCC school. Candidates must have demonstrated the values of respect, honesty and integrity through a specific action directed toward an opponent and also in his/her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics during the academic year.

The WCC "REPRESENT" campaign is a conference-wide sportsmanship campaign, which was launched in the fall of the 2010-11 school year in an effort to promote good sportsmanship and challenge WCC student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and fans to proudly represent the West Coast Conference, their school, their team, and their selves.

2011-12 WCC Sportsmanship Awards

Institutional Sportsmanship Award Winner

Brigham Young University

Individual Sportsmanship Award Winners

Male: Doug Herrick, Saint Mary's, Soccer

Female: Madison Levine, University of San Diego, Cross Country

Fall Team Sportsmanship Winners


Men's Cross Country: BYU
Women's Cross Country: University of San Francisco
Men's Soccer: Gonzaga University
Women's Soccer: Pepperdine University
Women's Volleyball: BYU

Winter Team Sportsmanship Winners
Men's Basketball: BYU
Women's Basketball: Gonzaga University

Spring Team Sportsmanship Winners
Men's Golf: Loyola Marymount University & Gonzaga University
Women's Golf: Gonzaga University
Men's Tennis: University of Portland
Women's Tennis: Saint Mary's College
Women's Rowing: Santa Clara University
Baseball: BYU