Duncan Ceriani receives NCAA Silver Anniversary Award | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Duncan Ceriani receives NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

PROVO, Utah — Former BYU volleyball All-American Dylann Duncan Ceriani received the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award Friday. Duncan Ceriani was one of six former student-athletes to receive the prestigious award.

The Silver Anniversary Award annually recognizes distinguished individuals on the 25th anniversary of the conclusion of their collegiate athletic careers and is one of the NCAA’s highest honors.

Watch an interview with Duncan Ceriani.

The most decorated female student-athlete in BYU history, Dylann rewrote school and NCAA volleyball record books, while leading BYU to four consecutive NCAA tournament appearances. She set an NCAA career record of 2,188 kills and still holds five career BYU marks. Dylann was a two-time All-American (1987, 1988) and a three-time CoSIDA Academic All-American (1986, 1987, 1988). As a senior, she received the distinguished NCAA Top 6 Award and earned an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

Following graduation with a degree in electrical and computer engineering, Dylann played for the U.S. National Team and professionally in the U.S. and Switzerland. She has been inducted into the BYU Athletic Hall of Fame, CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame and the Utah Hall of Fame. She is a senior engineer in the orthopedic product business and develops functional bracing. Dylann has been issued five patents in biomechanical engineering and received a master of science in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley in 1996.

Joining Dylann as recipients of the 2013 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award are Bob Cottingham, Yolanda ‘Gail’ Devers, Chad Hennings, Keith Jackson and Patrick McEnroe. The NCAA recognized the honorees during the 2013 NCAA Convention in Grapevine, Texas.

Dylann is the fifth former Cougar to receive the distinguished NCAA Silver Anniversary Award. The others are Larry Echohawk (football, 1995), Gifford Nielsen (football, 2003), Danny Ainge (basketball, 2006) and Steve Young (football, 2009).