Five To Be Inducted Into BYU Athletic Hall of Fame | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Five To Be Inducted Into BYU Athletic Hall of Fame

Heisman Trophy Winner Ty Detmer headlines this year's five inductees into BYU's Athletic Hall of Fame. The event will be on Friday, July 7 at 7:00 p.m., in the Stadium Cougar Room.

Detmer, along with Earlene Durrant, Sari Virtanen Stevens, David Schulthess and Mike Willes will be the newest members inducted into this prestigious group.

Perhaps the most decorated athlete to come through BYU, Detmer is a former Heisman Trophy winner and still holds 58 NCAA records. He is currently with the NFL Cleveland Browns.

Durrant, has been an athletic trainer at BYU since 1973, and is the current dean of BYU's College of Health and Human Performance. She has received numerous honors and awards and will also be inducted into the National Athletic Trainer's Hall of Fame in July.

Stevens still holds six BYU women's volleyball records and was instrumental in helping the Cougars achieve their first NCAA tournament wins.

Schulthess served as the Sports Information Director at BYU from 1951 to 1989. He also served as president for College Sports Information Directors of America.

Willes, a two-time All-American in 1987 and 1988, still holds eight BYU baseball records. In 1987 he led the NCAA in home runs.

Sponsored and directed by the Cougar Club, the BYU Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1975. Since then, more than 140 former athletes and administrators have received this prestigious honor. Some of them include BYU greats such as Danny Ainge, Maria Betioli Zanandrea, Robbie Bosco, Virgil Carter, Todd Christensen, Kresimir Cosic, Karen Curtis Lamb, Devin Durrant, Ed Eyestone, Rondo Fehlberg, Johnny Miller, Gifford Nielsen, Phil Odle, Michael Smith, Glen Tuckett, Peter Van

Valkenburg, Stan Watts, Marc Wilson, Steve Young and the 1951 NIT Championship Basketball Team and 1966 NIT Championship Basketball Team.

Honored not only for their athletic abilities but also giving community service and setting examples worthy for others to emulate, less than two percent of BYU varsity athletes are ever nominated for the Hall of Fame, with less than one percent being

inducted. Selection into the Hall of Fame is based on playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, as well as contributions to sport,

team and community. Each inductee is honored with their picture and accomplishments in The Hall of Fame Gallery located in the Cougar Club Stadium Room.

"Brigham Young University and the BYU Cougar Club are pleased to recognize the accomplishments of these remarkable individuals," said Michael Middleton, Executive Director of the Cougar Club. "We are grateful for the legacy of success and

excitement that they have left behind."

Last year Clay Brown, Dylann Duncan Ceriani, Rick Fehr, Jackie Beene McBride, and Ann Valentine were inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Ticket information is available by calling the Cougar Club at 801-378-2583.