Van Noy named to 2013 CFPA Defensive Awards Watch List | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Van Noy named to 2013 CFPA Defensive Awards Watch List

Jun 17, 2013 - Posted by Whitney Weekes on June 17, 2013 at 4:00 pm

College Football Performance Awards announced BYU senior Kyle Van Noy as a member of its 2013 CFPA Defensive Awards Watch List this week.

Van Noy was the 2012 CFPA Linebacker Trophy winner and 2012 CFPA National Defensive Performer of the Year.

“Congratulations to CFPA winner Kyle Van Noy on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Defensive Awards Watch List,” said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. “Van Noy will play an important role for BYU in 2013.”

Van Noy is one of six featured CFPA winners on the cover of the 2013 CFPA Watch List along with Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina), AJ McCarron (Alabama), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), Marqise Lee (USC) and Braxton Miller (Ohio State).

Two BYU Cougars have earned CFPA honors: Van Noy (LB) and current Baltimore Ravens star Dennis Pitta (TE), who won the 2009 CFPA Elite Tight End Trophy.

BYU's Cody Hoffman and Kaneakua Friel were previously named to the 2013 CFPA Offensive Awards Watch List.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

For more information on CFPA, visit the Official CFPA Website.