Watch 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Announcement Tuesday | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Watch 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Announcement Tuesday

May 14, 2012 - Posted by Brett Pyne on May 14, 2012 at 5:53 pm | Updated: May 14, 2012 6:02 pm

The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced Monday during College Football Live on ESPN that former BYU quarterback Ty Detmer will enter the College Football Hall of Fame. The 1990 Heisman Trophy winner was the first member of the 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Class to be revealed as a prelude to the announcement of the entire class on Tuesday, which will take place from the NASDAQ MarketSite in New York City at 11:30 a.m. ET.

Fans have three options on the internet for watching the announcement, which will be emceed by ESPN analyst Jesse Palmer. XOS Digital for the second consecutive year will produce a live stream, including highlight footage.

Watch the live stream of the event by selecting any of the following links:  

NFF On Demand YouTube Channel

NFF's home page

For those wishing to watch on their smart phones or tablets, XOS Digital has built the NFF iPhone and iPad applications, which can be purchased at the iTunes App Store by searching for "National Football Foundation," and SiriusXM College Sports Nation (Channel 91) will offer listeners live coverage from the NASDAQ MarketSite. Veteran broadcaster Jack Arute will host a special edition of SiriusXM's College Football Playbook from 11:00 am - 3:00 pm ET, featuring interviews with the new and previous inductees on site.

The NFF will also keep fans abreast of the announcement on Twitter (@NFFNetwork) and Facebook ( Finally, fans will be able to watch a recap of the class on May 15 during ESPN's College Football Live at 3:30 p.m. ET with an exclusive interview with ESPN analyst Rece Davis, who will be on site to talk with the inductees and capture their emotion about what it means to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Congratulations to Ty for his election to become the seventh Cougar to enter the sport’s ultimate shrine. Headlining the 2012 class, Detmer joins fellow Cougars Gifford Nielsen (1994), Marc Wilson (1996), Jim McMahon (1998), LaVell Edwards (2004), Steve Young (2005) and Gordon Hudson (2009) in the Hall.

“Ty was a tremendous talent and an absolute legend at BYU,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “He accomplished almost everything a player can do in college football, and the way he played the game was truly ahead of its time. He is a very deserving member of the College Football Hall of Fame.”