Williams named to CFPA National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Williams named to CFPA National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List

Oct 24, 2012 - Posted by Kenny Cox on October 24, 2012 at 5:22 pm | Updated: October 24, 2012 5:24 pm

BYU's Jamaal Williams was named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) 2012 National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List today.

Williams leads the Cougars in rushing with 79 carries for 409 yards and a team-high five touchdowns. His 409 rushing yards are the ninth-most among FBS Division-I freshman running backs while his five touchdowns are tied for the sixth most among freshman running backs and 76th nationally among all players. A product of Fontana, Calif., Williams ran for a career-best 155 yards and two touchdowns vs. Hawai'i. He also has 17 receptions for 172 yards.

Here is the CFPA's complete release on this year's watch list:

CHARLOTTE, North Carolina (OCTOBER 24, 2012) – College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) announced the 2012 National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List today. The watch list is a rough guide, highlighting freshmen whose performances merit recognition. Freshmen are not preemptively eliminated from consideration, and all players are eligible for weekly, annual, and career awards at their respective positions.

Previous FBS recipients include Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller (2011), South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore (2010), and Oregon running back LaMichael James (2009).

2012 National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List:
Amari Cooper, Alabama Wide Receiver
T.J. Yeldon, Alabama Running Back
Jamaal Williams, BYU Running Back
Cory James, Colorado State Linebacker
Davante Adams, Fresno State Wide Receiver
Todd Gurley, Georgia Running Back
Keith Marshall, Georgia Running Back
Will Gregory, Hawaii Running Back
Landon Foster, Kentucky Punter
Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech Running Back
Jeremy Hill, LSU Running Back
Kevin Grooms, Marshall Running Back
Stefon Diggs, Maryland Wide Receiver
Duke Johnson, Miami Running Back
Marcus Mariota, Oregon Quarterback
Storm Woods, Oregon State Running Back
Austin Lopez, San Jose State Placekicker
Trevone Boykin, TCU Quarterback
Devonte Fields, TCU Defensive Lineman
Jaden Oberkrom, TCU Placekicker
Johnathan Gray, Texas Running Back
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M Quarterback
Alonzo Russell, Toledo Wide Receiver
Austin Brown, UAB Quarterback
Brett Hundley, UCLA Quarterback
Leonard Williams, USC Defensive Lineman
Jordan Nielsen, Utah State Defensive Lineman
Jaime Wilson, Western Michigan Wide Receiver

About College Football Performance Awards (CFPA):
The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

As prominent scholars from a wide variety of disciplines note, CFPA eliminates the politics and biases that vitiate balloting-based awards. Furthermore, CFPA has received praise from both Republican and Democratic White House officials for promoting objectivity and fairness in college football.

Visit the Official Website of College Football Performance Awards: http://www.collegefootballperformance.com and follow CFPA @CFPerformance.