Women's Soccer Blog | August 2012 | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Women's Soccer Blog | August 2012

Jennifer Rockwood Featured on BYUtv's "Legends"

Aug 16, 2012 - Posted by Whitney Craft Jordan at 9:09 am | Updated: August 16, 2012 9:19 am | Permalink

BYU women's soccer head coach Jennifer Rockwood is the subject of the BYUtv series "Legends" in their upcoming episode to air on Monday, August 20, at 6 p.m. MT. 

The show highlights Rockwood's career as a player for BYU and her 17 years as its head coach. The episode can be viewed live on BYUtv or online live at byutv.org.

In her years as head coach for the BYU women's soccer team Rockwood has amassed a 274-85-31 all-time record, making her the 6th winningest active head coach in the NCAA and 7th all-time. Rockwood has coached 35+ All-American awards, won eight conference titles, made 13 NCAA tournament appearances and seen the program through three conference changes. 

"Legends" also did an episode dedicated to BYU assistant coach Aleisha Rose and it can be watched online

College Sports Maddness - Preseason All-America List

Aug 15, 2012 - Posted by Whitney Craft Jordan at 8:58 am | Permalink

College Sports Madness (CSM), an online sports destination that recently added women's soccer to its repertoire, has released its 2012 Preseason All-Americans and included BYU senior Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall to its First Team. Cutshall was also added to CSM's Preseason All-West Coast Conference Team earlier this month. 

Ctushall netted four goals and took 20 shots last season while anchoring a BYU women's soccer defense that allowed just 16 goals all season.

Below is a full list of CSM's Preseason All-American winners. 

First Team Second Team
Christine Exeter, Louisville Becca Wann, Richmond
Maya Hayes, Penn State Colleen Williams, Dayton
Chioma Ubogagu, Stanford Nadia Link, Long Beach St.
Katie Stengel, Wake Forest Tiffany McCarty, Florida St.
Amber Brooks, North Carolina Morgan Brian, Virginia
Julie Johnston, Santa Clara Mallory Schaffer, William & Mary
Kristen Mewis, Boston College Christabel Oduro, Memphis
Kaitlyn Kerr, Duke Erika Tymrak, Florida
Alina Garciamendez, Stanford Michelle Pao, Pepperdine
Natasha Ansai, Duke Kassey Kallman, Florida State
Crystal Dunn, North Carolina Ines Jaurena, Florida State
Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, BYU Abby Dahlkemper, UCLA
Adrianna Franch, Oklahoma State Aubrey Bledsoe, Wake Forest
Third Team Fourth Team
Micaela Capelle, Portland Kelly Cobb, Duke
Caroline Miller, Virginia Natalia Ledezma, UC Irvine
Kelsey Haycock, La Salle Kate Schwindel, West Virginia
Tishia Jewell, UCF Kate Howart, Miami (FL)
Samantha Mewis, UCLA Domenica Hodak, Maryland
Christine Narin, Penn State Renee Washington, La Salle
Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois Caitlin Alves, Hartford
Mandy Laddish, Notre Dame Jenna Richmond, UCLA
Cassie Dickerson, Kansas Bry McCarthy, West Virginia
Carson Michalowski, Oklahoma St. Marissa Diggs, UCF
Kathryn Williamson, Florida Alex Balcer, Long Beach State
Ally Miller, Marquette Rachel lenz, Texas A&M
Erin Quinlan, Hartford Emily Oliver, Stanford

Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall on Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug 13, 2012 - Posted by Whitney Craft Jordan at 1:12 pm | Updated: August 15, 2012 8:33 am | Permalink

Forty-two men and 38 women have been identified as players to follow this season, as these individuals have been named to the Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch Lists for 2012. Included on that list is BYU women's soccer defender Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall

The MAC Herman Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

This is the second-straight year Cuthshall has been named to the Watch List. 

Cutshall is a two-time NSCAA All-American as BYU's anchor defender that helped to allow just 16 goals from opponents last season. In 2011, Cutshall netted four goals and took 20 shots. 

Each list will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winners will be announced at the awards’ banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.

Fellow WCC opponent Julie Johnston from Santa Clara joins Cutshall on the 38-person women's list. 

College Sports Madness Honors BYU

Aug 13, 2012 - Posted by Whitney Craft Jordan at 10:30 am | Updated: August 15, 2012 8:32 am | Permalink

College Sports Madness (CSM), an online sports destination that recently added women's soccer to its repertoire, has awarded three members of the BYU women's soccer team with preseason awards.

In their West Coast Conference preview, CSM named seniors Carlee Payne Holmoe and Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall as a part of their Preseason All-WCC First Team. On their Second Team, they included junior Rachel Manning. Below is a full list of the award winners.

College Sports Madness Preseason All-WCC Teams
First Team Second Team
Micaela Capelle, Portland Kaila Cameli, Portland
Sofia Huera, Santa Clara Emily Dillon, San Diego
Lynn Williams, Pepperdine Emma Dolcetti, Gonzaga
Carlee Payne Holmoe, BYU Anisa Guajardo, Pepperdine
Christina Moberg, San Francisco Danielle Weatherholt, Santa Clara
Mariah Butera, San Diego Caroline Kruez, Saint Mary's
Julie Johnston, Santa Clara Rachel Manning, BYU
Ellie Rice, Santa Clara Meleana Shim, Santa Clara
Michelle Pao, Pepperdine Meghan O'Rourke, San Diego
Kelsea Smith, Pepperdine Kendall Johnson, Portland
Etajha Gilmer, Loyola Marymount Dani Russell, San Diego
Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, BYU Kristin DeGrandmont, Pepperdine
Roxanne Barker, Pepperdine Molly Mettler, Santa Clara
Offensive Player of the Year Julie Johnston, Santa Clara
Freshman of the Year Danielle Weatherholt, Santa Clara
Defensive Player of the Year Roxanne Barker, Pepperdine
Coach of the Year Tim Ward, Pepperdine