Preseason Awards

BYU leads nation with six on Polynesian College Football Player of the Year watch list

HONOLULU – BYU had six players named to the 2016 Watch List for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame. BYU’s six honorees were the most of any other school, with no other school placing more than three on the list. 

The six Cougars named to the list were defensive linemen Travis Tuiloma, Logan Taele and Sae Tautu along with offensive lineman Ului Lapuaho, defensive back Kai Nacua and linebacker Harvey Langi.

This award is presented annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity.  Former University of Oregon, and current Tennessee Titans Quarterback, Marcus Mariota was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2014 and former University of Notre Dame, and current Baltimore Ravens Offensive Lineman, Ronnie Stanley received last year’s honor.

The winner of the 2016 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on December 7, 2016.  Five finalists will be unveiled on November 17.  The formal presentation of the award will be held at the Celebration Dinner during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend on January 20, 2017.

“It is remarkable that the first two recipients of the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award went on to be drafted No. 2 overall (Marcus Mariota, 2015 NFL Draft) and No. 6 overall (Ronnie Stanley, 2016 NFL Draft) respectively,” said Jesse Sapolu, Chairman and Co-Founder.  “This award allows us to showcase the tremendous impact that our Polynesian student-athletes are having on the game of football.”

The 2016 Watch List is composed of 38 players from 24 different FBS schools. The Pac-12 led all conferences with 16 players, followed by the Mountain West (6), Big 12 (2), Sun Belt (2), ACC (1), American Athletic (1), Big Ten (1), Conference USA (1), Mid-American (1), SEC (1), and Independents (6).

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2016-2017 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, which includes Coaches Dick Tomey (Chairman), LaVell Edwards, Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, past NFLPA President and Inaugural Inductee Kevin Mawae, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, NFL player personnel legend Gil Brandt and Honolulu Sportscaster Robert Kekaula.

The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches and contributors. As a 501(C)(3) non-profit organization, the Hall of Fame serves as a resource for Polynesian football history, provides scholarships for Polynesian student-athletes and supports educational programs for Polynesian youth.

View the entire list at