Watch Lists

Tejan Koroma named to Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List

(Photo by BYU Photo)

TYLER, Texas – BYU center Tejan Koroma was named to the the third annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List announced today at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce East Texas Kick-Off luncheon.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.  

Koroma, a product of Allen High School in Allen, Texas, was the only true freshman center in FBS Division I to start all 13 games at center in 2014, helping propel the Cougar offense to 37.1 points per game, No. 15 in the nation. Koroma was named FWAA Freshman All-America, ESPN True Freshman All-America, 247Sports True Freshman All-America, Sporting News All-True Freshman and Phil Steele Freshman All-America following the 2014 season. He has also been named to the 2015 Rimington Trophy and Lombardi Award watch lists. 

The Watch List announced today will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to five finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans, and the previous winner. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for Jan. 13, 2016.

This year's Watch List (complete list at the bottom) includes:

*  39 players from 10 different conferences including one independent ( ACC, AAC, Big Ten, Big 12, C-USA, MWC, Pac 12, SEC, Sunbelt)

*  Players representing Universities from 18 different states and 31 schools

*  Wide receivers lead the nominations with 11, followed by quarterbacks (10), running backs (9), offensive linemen (5), tailbacks (2), tight ends (1),  halfback (1)

*  TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin, last year's award recipient, is again on the Watch List; along with last year finalists Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett, and Oklahoma running back Samaje Perine.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award was announced in 2012 by the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler.

“We are fortunate to have a celebrity who exhibits the impeccable virtues that define this award. In addition to being a well-known sports figure, Earl also earned a college degree, married his high school sweetheart, raised two successful sons and still supports the community where he grew up,” said Cindy Smoak, Vice President, SPORTyler.

Earl Campbell graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before joining the Texas Longhorns under legendary Coach Darrell K. Royal. In his senior year, he led the nation with 1744 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns, going on to win the Longhorns’ first Heisman Trophy.

He was subsequently drafted by the Houston Oilers where he won Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing 3 times. Campbell earned NFL MVP in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. He now resides in Austin.

“All my life, all I wanted to do was be an athlete. I kept God in my life and surrounded myself with good people. I am humbled by this award named in my honor,” said Campbell.

For more information about The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award go to

Older Watch Lists Posts