Athletic Department Coaching | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Athletic Department Coaching

Michaelis Inducted into WCC Hall of Honor

One of volleyball’s all-time great coaches, BYU’s Elaine Michaelis retired from coaching in May 2002 after 40 years guiding the Cougar program. Michaelis retired as the all-time leader in victories among female coaches in collegiate volleyball at any level with an 886-225-5 (.792) record. (Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

PROVO, Utah—The West Coast Conference will induct former BYU coach Elaine Michaelis into the 2012 WCC Hall of Honor March 3 in Las Vegas during the conference basketball championships.  

Michaelis held head coach positions for BYU’s women’s volleyball, women’s basketball, women’s field hockey and softball teams. She was also Director of Women’s Intercollegiate Athletics at BYU from 1995-2004.

Beginning her coaching career in 1961, Michaelis is the second winningest coach in NCAA Division I volleyball history and has the most wins of a female volleyball coach at any level. She retired from coaching in 2002 after more than 40 years in BYU athletics.

Since 1980, Michaelis has garnered 11 coach of the year awards and has been inducted into the BYU, AVCA, UNGWS and Utah Summer Games hall of fames.

Michaelis graduated from BYU with a bachelor’s of science degree (1960) and master’s of science degree (1962) in physical education. While in school, she played on BYU’s volleyball, basketball and softball teams. In a tournament in 1960, Michaelis threw a no-hitter against Colorado State and a one-hitter two hours later against Western State College.

Read Michaelis's bio for a full list of her honors and accomplishments.

The former coach is one of nine individuals receiving the conference honors. All nine Hall of Honor members will be formally inducted at the WCC Hall of Honor Brunch on March 3 at 9 a.m. at the Mardi Gras Ballroom in the Orleans Hotel and will be honored during halftime of the first men's semifinal later that evening.


2012 WCC Hall of Honor Inductees

Names Sport School
Elaine Michaelis Women’s volleyball/Administration BYU
Blake Stepp  Men’s basketball Gonzaga
Billy Bean Baseball Loyola Marymount
Dana Jones Men’s basketball Pepperdine
Kasey Keller Men’s soccer Portland
Tom Candiotti Baseball Saint Mary’s
Thomas Burke Administration San Diego
K. C. Jones Men’s basketball San Francisco
Kurt Rambis Men’s basketball Santa Clara