Football Awards and Honors

Phil Steele names seven Cougars to Midseason All-Independent Team

(Photo by BYU Photo)

PROVO, Utah – Seven BYU football players were named to Phil Steele’s 2014 Midseason All-Independent Team Friday.

Special teams and defense each had two players selected, while three were recognized on offense.  Phil Steele’s College Foot­ball Preview is one of the nation’s most informative preseason football magazines and has always released Preseason, Midseason and Postseason All-America teams.

The Cougars were well represented on special teams with senior punter Scott Arellano and junior kick returner Adam Hine garnering attention for their stellar play. In 2013, Hine also received the same honor at midseason for his work as kick return specialist.

Senior safety Craig Bills and senior linebacker Alani Fua were honored on defense, while senior receiver Jordan Leslie, junior receiver Mitch Mathews and freshman left tackle Ului Lapuaho were selections on offense.

Notre Dame led the field of independents with 10 selections. Following BYU, Navy and Army had six and five players honored, respectively.

FTB Awards and Honors Subcategories

FTB Academic All-Conference

FTB All-American

FTB All-Conference Honors

FTB All-District

FTB Coaching

FTB Hall of Fame

FTB Miscellaneous Awards

FTB Player of the Month

FTB Player of the Week

FTB Player of the Year

FTB Preseason Awards

FTB Senior Night

FTB Top Performers of the Week

FTB Watch Lists

View All FTB Categories