Women's Cross Country Hall of Fame | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Women's Cross Country Hall of Fame

USTFCCCA to induct former BYU coach into Hall of Fame

(Photo by Mark A. Philbrick/BYU Photo)

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Tuesday that former BYU women’s cross country and track coach Patrick Shane will be inducted into the USTFCCCA Coaches Hall of Fame in the Class of 2017.

Shane was among five other coaches selected from across the country. He will be welcomed into the Hall of Fame for his incredible and historic accomplishments as a coach and for the lasting impact his contributions have had and will continue to have.

Shane coached 36 years at BYU. He was hired as the women’s cross country head coach in 1980 and built the program into what it is today. He led the Cougars to 31 national championship appearances in 35 seasons. His team won four NCAA titles and finished runner up three times. He also coached his team to 24 conference championships and 16 regional titles.

Shane was named NCAA Cross Country Coach of the Year three times and received 17 conference coach of the year honors. He also earned nine District VII Coach of the Year awards.

“He [left] a legacy of All-Americans, national champions and Olympians,” BYU head coach Ed Eyestone said. “Patrick is a hall of fame coach that I am fortunate to count as a friend and mentor. His legacy will continue to influence the BYU track and cross country programs for years.”

During Shane’s career, he coached 66 All-Americans who earned more than 150 citations. He also coached six Olympians.

In addition to coaching at BYU, Shane coached at the national and international levels. He was the head coach of the USA Junior National Women’s Team for the 1995 World Cross Country Championships in Durham, England. He also coached the USA National Women’s Team for the 1999 World Cross Country Championships in Portugal. He was chosen as the head coach of the 2008 USA National Women’s Track and Field Team for the IAAF World Junior Champions in Poland.

Shane will be honored at the 2017 USTFCCCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Wednesday, December 13, at the USTFCCA Convention in Phoenix, Arizona.