Women's Volleyball Awards and Honors

Cougars nominated for State of Sport Awards

PROVO, Utah — BYU women's volleyball has received four nominations for Utah’s Fourth-Annual Governor’s State of Sport Awards.

Alexa Gray and Jennifer Hamson (volleyball & basketball) both received nominations for Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year, head coach Shawn Olmstead collected a nomination for Coach of the Year and the entire Cougar squad received a nod as Team of the Year.

Nominations for the awards are based on achievements from the 2014 calendar year and were selected by a committee comprised of various members of the sports media and industry leaders throughout Utah.

Governor Gary Herbert will speak at the ceremony and present awards to winners in nine categories. Jay Leno is this year's special guest along with 2015's Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Stein Eriksen. The ceremony will be held Tuesday, April 21, at EnergySolutions Arena. 

Fan voting has begun and is open until midnight on Sunday, April 19. Anyone can vote once per device per 24 hours. To vote, go to the State of Sport Awards website and click on the 'Go Vote' icon.

WVLB Awards and Honors Subcategories

WVLB Academic All-Conference

WVLB All-American

WVLB All-Conference Honors

WVLB All-District

WVLB All-Region

WVLB Coaching

WVLB Hall of Fame

WVLB Miscellaneous Awards

WVLB Player of the Month

WVLB Player of the Week

WVLB WCC Honor Roll

View All WVLB Categories