BYU Invitational
BYU set the standard for the year in its first meet of the season, landing several first-place events. In the triple jump, Aaron Powell set a meet record with a distance of 49-3.5. Trevor Heinor advanced in the high jump clearing a height of 6-8.75. Kyle Perry and Rhyan Atrice represented in the mile and 400-meter with times of 4:12.24 and 48.65, respectively, while Drew Foster and Brandon Hebbert sealed the deal with 1:55.48 in the 800-meter and 8:30.42 in the 3,000-meter races.

New Balance Invitational
In one of their biggest meets of the season, the Cougars went to New York City to compete in the New Balance Invitational. Chris Little won the pole vault, clearing a height of 5.30m. The mark earned Little a provisional mark in the NCAA’s. BYU competed against 60 other top programs and won the 4x400 relay with Kevin Ahlstrom, Rhyan Atrice, Kevin Beisinger and James Derek McAllister in a time of 3:13.39. Field events also went well with Anse Myller DeAraujo jumping 14.76m in the triple jump for fifth place and Kyle Mills was two spots behind in 14.45m.

MWC Championships
BYU added another indoor championship to its trophy case with its 10th title in 11 years. The Cougars finished with 159.5 points to lead the way. Leif Arrhenius and Danny Lawson took first and second in the shot put to help seal the victory with throws of 18.23m and 17.90m, respectively. Arrhenius also won the weight throw. Rhyan Atrice crushed his personal record in the 400-meter with a time of 47.21. Brian Weirich finished second in the 800-meter with a time of 1:51.28 and James Heiner and Justin Hedin took third and fifth place.

NCAA CHampionships
Leif Arrhenius was the lone representative for BYU at the NCAA Indoor Championships and didn’t disappoint. Arrhenius set a personal best mark in the weight throw with a toss of 21.56m. The mark earned him a fourth place finish and All-American honors. Earning five points, he led the Cougars to a tie for 35th place overall in the team standings.


In the second outdoor meet of the season Richard Nelson recorded the fastest 3000-meter steeplechase time in the NCAA’s for the season with a time of 8:46.91. Josh Adams also set a personal best in the steeplechase with a time of 9:00.93. Seeing his first action since returning from an LDS mission Chris Reno finished second in the javelin with a throw of 69.92 meters for second place. Aaron Powell took third place in the long jump, going for 7.11m.

Ryan Waite won the 800-meter race in a time of 1:50.17 to set the best mark in the MWC for 2010. The hurdles were another point of success with Kevin Ahlstrom claiming first in the 400-meter hurdles and TJ Emrich and Lance Walker tying for fourth place in the 110-meter hurdles. Kyle Mills set a personal best in the long jump with a mark of 7.03m. BYU dominated the triple jump, taking the first three spots with Anse Myller DeAraujo winning with a jump of 14.96m. In the hammer throw, it was Oliver Whaley who won the event and set the top mark in the MWC with a throw of 57.60m.

Multiple season-best marks fell while BYU athletes went up national and conference performance lists at the Robison Invitational. Daniel Lawson threw the shot put 17.84m to move him up from 51st to 25th on the national performance list in addition to setting a new career-best. Leif Arrhenius also added a career-high with 18.42m in the shot put and good for 9th in the country. Arrhenius added a toss of 59.80m in the hammer throw to lead the conference. Brian Weirich improved his mile time to4:07.87 to move up to 25th on the national list and Rhyan Atrice finished the 400-meter in a time of 47.86, a season best. Chris Little won the pole vault with a mark of 5.20m and Trevor Heiner took first in the high jump, clearing 2.07m.

The men’s team dominated the MWC Championships, winning its 12th consecutive title. Chris Reno won the javelin with a throw of 73.35m and set a MWC all-time record. Sean Richardson was close behind with a toss of 71.61m, good for second all-time in the MWC. Danny Lawson won the shot put with a toss of 60-03.25 while Leif Arrhenius won both the discus and hammer throw add to his list of accolades. Chris Little claimed a championship in the pole vault by clearing 5.40m. The 4x400 relay was again a highlight for the Cougars, with Derek McAllister, Kevin Beisinger, Ryan Waite and Rhyan Atrice to win the event with a 3:08.81 time.

NCAA Nationals
Juniors Blaine Baker and Sean Richardson each earned All-American status by finishing ninth and 11th, respectively, in the javelin. BYU would have another All-American with senior Richard Nelson turning in a 3000-meter time of 8:45.63 to finish eighth place overall. Oliver Whaley finished 20th in the weight throw with a toss of 59.33m and Leif Arrhenius competed in the discus and shot put.

Brigham Young University – Athletic Creative Services © 2009