Eighth Annual Y Mountain Run | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Eighth Annual Y Mountain Run

Several BYU baseball players gather at the Y Mountain trailhead prior to Tuesday's annual team run to the Block Y.

Over 30 players, coaches and trainers ran up Y Mountain in the eighth annual BYU baseball team run on Tuesday afternoon.

Zane Affleck won with the fastest time ever at 13:09, followed by fellow freshman infielder Travis Stacey in 13:52.

Pitcher Desmond Poulson, who earned Freshman All-America honors last season, placed third in 14:42.  Poulson won the annual Y Mountain run last year in 14:37.  Newly returned missionary Adam Law, a sophomore infielder, was fourth in a time of 15:04.

The players, running in rain showers, met BYU coach Vance Law at the top of the block Y as he timed them.

“In past years we have had three to four players run under 16 minutes,” said Coach Law.  “This year we had seven players under 16 minutes.

“Our players have been working very hard and it shows through things like today, runs around the Provo Temple and in the weight room as well.  I am pleased with the way they have been working.”

Team members will be presented a coin later this year in part signifying this accomplishment.