Marshall Named to Midseason Stopper List | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Marshall Named to Midseason Stopper List

Mason Marshall is one of three freshman and three pitchers from the West Coast Conference named to the NCBWA's midseason Stopper of the Year list. (Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

Wichita, Kan. (NCBWA) --- Freshman Mason Marshall of BYU is among 45 players have been named to the midseason watch list for the eighth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, as announced by the association Thursday.

Marshall is one of three freshman and three pitchers from the West Coast Conference named to the list.
San Diego’s Michael Wagner headlines the nominees for the 2012 award.  Wagner leads the nation with 18 saves in 22 appearances.  He has pitched 35 innings with 31 strikeouts and is 1-1 with a 1.03 ERA.
Among the other most notable nominees are 2011 Stopper of the Year Award winner Corey Knebel of Texas and preseason All-America selections Tony Bryant of Oregon State, Caleb Reed of Mississippi State, Austin Maddox of Florida and Nick Wittgren of Purdue.
The SEC led the way with eight pitchers on the midseason watch list, while the ACC had five pitchers on the list.  Eighteen conferences are represented on the list.
Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relation contacts and more than 90 nominations were received. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 6, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.
The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2012 College World Series.
Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006, Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007, Georgia’s Joshua Fields topping the field in 2008, San Diego State’s Addison Reed grabbing the honor in 2009, Texas’ Chance Ruffin earning the honor in 2010 and Texas freshman Corey Knebel winning it last season.
The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.
Pitcher                               School                          YR
R.J. Alvarez                       Florida Atlantic              Jr.
Barrett Astin                      Arkansas                       So.
Jake Barrett                      Arizona State                 Jr.
Robert Benincasa             Florida State                  Jr.
Nick Blount                       Tennessee                     Jr.
Tony Bryant                      Oregon State                 Jr.
Tyler Burgess                   Missouri State                Fr.
Chase Byerly                    Butler                             Jr.
J.T. Chargois                    Rice                                Jr.
Scott Coffman                  New Mexico State          Sr.
Blake Dieterich                Georgia                           Jr.
Michael Dimock               Wake Forest                   Sr.
Matt Duncan                    Morehead State              Jr.
Cale Elam                       Wichita State                   So.
E.J. Encinosa                  Miami, Fla.                      Jr.
Garrett Fanchier              Belmont                          Sr.
Matt Gardner                   Nevada                           Sr.
Mike Gomez                    FIU                                 Jr.
Nick Goody                     LSU                                Jr.
Trevor Gott                      Kentucky                       So.
Scott Griggs                    UCLA                             Jr.
Preston Hatcher             Western Carolina            Jr.
Brett Huber                     Ole Miss                         Jr.
Nathan Hyatt                  Appalachian State          Sr.
Owen Jones                   Portland                          Sr.
Corey Knebel                 Texas                              So.
Kenny Long                    Illinois State                    Sr.
Stefan Lopez                  Southeastern La.            Jr.
Michael Lorenzen           Cal State Fullerton         So.
Austin Maddox                Florida                            Jr.
Mason Marshall             BYU                              Fr.
Tanner Merritt                 East Carolina                 So.
Michael Morin                 North Carolina               Jr.
Chris O’Grady                 George Mason              Jr.
David Peterson               College of Charleston   Sr.
Robbie Powell                 Stetson                         Sr.
Dustin Quattrocchi          SIUE                             Sr.
Caleb Reed                     Mississippi State          Sr.
Joe Rogers                      UCF                             Jr.
Derek Self                        Louisville                     Sr.
Jimmie Sherfy                  Oregon                       So.
Chad Sobotka                  USC Upstate              Fr.
Justin Thompson              Virginia                       Sr.
Michael Wagner                San Diego                 So.
Nick Wittgren                     Purdue                      Jr.