Araujo Named Honorable Mention AP All-American | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Araujo Named Honorable Mention AP All-American

Rafael Araujo is the first Cougar since Mekeli Wesley in 2001 to earn All-America accolades. (Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

Senior center led BYU in scoring, rebounding, steals and blocks

PROVO -- BYU senior Rafael Araujo has been selected to the 2004 Associated Press All-America Honorable Mention team, announced Tuesday afternoon. Araujo, the Mountain West Conference Co-Player of the Year, is the 19th Cougar basketball player to earn All-America honors and the first since 2001 when Mekeli Wesley also earned honorable-mention honors.

Only one center -- Connecticut's Emeka Okafor -- was selected to the first three teams. One of the nation's premier big men, Araujo had the fourth highest combined points and rebounds averages in the nation this year. The 6-foot-11 280-pound native of Sao Paulo, Brazil, led BYU in scoring (18.4), rebounds (10.1), steals (1.4) and blocks (0.8) in 2003-04 and led all MWC players in steals in league action.

Araujo recorded 16 double-doubles games, the fifth best single-season total all-time at BYU, while leading the Cougars to a 21-9 record and their second straight at-large NCAA Tournament berth. In addition to being named MWC Co-Player of the Year along with fellow honorable mention selection Nick Welch of Air Force, Araujo was also named to the USBWA District 8 Team and NABC District 13 First Team while being listed as a Wooden Award candidate. He was named MWC Player of the Week three times this season.

He recorded career highs of 32 points and 17 rebounds in BYU's win over now No. 3 Oklahoma State and finished his season with 24 points and 12 rebounds against defending national champion Syracuse in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

The AP All-America team is selected by the same media panel of 72 that votes on the weekly poll. Each member selected three All-America teams, with players receiving points on a 5-3-1 basis.

2004 AP All-America Basketball Teams


Jameer Nelson, Saint Joseph's, 5-11, 190, senior, Chester, Pa.

Emeka Okafor, Connecticut, 6-9, 252, junior, Houston, Texas

Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State, 6-9, 230, junior, Houston, Texas

Josh Childress, Stanford, 6-8, 205, junior, Los Angeles, Calif.

Ryan Gomes, Providence, 6-7, 245, junior, Waterbury, Conn.


Devin Harris, Wisconsin, 6-3, 185, junior, Milwaukee, Wis.

Julius Hodge, North Carolina State, 6-6, 191, junior, New York, N.Y.

Luke Jackson, Oregon, 6-7, 215, senior, Creswell, Ore.

Andre Emmett, Texas Tech, 6-5, 225, senior, Dallas, Texas

Blake Stepp, Gonzaga, 6-4, 192, senior, Eugene, Ore.


Chris Duhon, Duke, 6-1, 185, senior, Slidell, La.

John Lucas, Oklahoma State, 5-11, 152, junior, Houston, Texas

Hakim Warrick, Syracuse, 6-8, 205, junior, Wynnewood, Pa.

Rashad McCants, North Carolina, 6-4, 207, sophomore, Asheville, N.C.

Wayne Simien, Kansas, 6-9, 250, junior, Leavenworth, Kan.

HONORABLE MENTION (In alphabetical order)

Tony Allen, Oklahoma State; Rafael Araujo, BYU; Andre Barrett, Seton Hall; Odell Bradley, IUPUI; Darren Brooks, Southern Illinois; Dee Brown, Illinois; Antonio Burks, Memphis; Taylor Coppenrath, Vermont; Erik Daniels, Kentucky; Miah Davis, Pacific; Paul Davis, Michigan State; Greg Davis, Troy State; Luol Deng, Duke; Ike Diogu, Arizona State; B.J. Elder, Georgia Tech; Gerald Fitch, Kentucky; Luis Flores, Manhattan; Jason Forte, Brown; Matt Freije, Vanderbilt; Francisco Garcia, Louisville; Danny Gathings, High Point; Ben Gordon, Connecticut; David Harrison, Colorado; David Hawkins, Temple; Kris Humphries, Minnesota; LeRoy Hurd, Texas-San Antonio; Andre Iguodala, Arizona; Arthur Johnson, Missouri; Domonic Jones, Virginia Commonwealth; Carl Krauser, Pittsburgh; Jaime Lloreda, LSU; Bryant Matthews, Virginia Tech; Sean May, North Carolina; Attarrius Norwood, Mississippi Valley State; Dylan Page, Wisconsin-Milwaukee; Chris Paul, Wake Forest; Tim Pickett, Florida State; J.J. Redick, Duke; Anthony Roberson, Florida; Ron Robinson, Central Connecticut State; Austen Rowland, Lehigh; Romain Sato, Xavier; Alvin Snow, Eastern Washington; Kirk Snyder, Nevada; Chris Thomas, Notre Dame; Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga; Cuthbert Victor, Murray State; Zakee Wadood, East Tennessee State; Nick Welch, Air Force; Mike Wells, Western Kentucky; Delonte West, Saint Joseph's; Mike Williams, Western Michigan; Shelden Williams, Duke; Thurman Zimmerman, South Carolina State.