Araujo Named to NABC District 13 First Team

BYU senior center Rafael Araujo ranks among the nation's most productive players this season averaging 18.3 points and 10.3 rebounds. He has been named to the NABC District 13 First Team. (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

The country's top collegiate basketball student-athletes move one step closer to earning All-American honors

OVERLAND PARK -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Wednesday announced the NABC Division I All-District Teams recognizing the country's best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes. BYU senior center Rafael Araujo earned District 13 First Team honors as one of eight players from a Mountain West Conference school to be selected.

Araujo is averaging a double-double of 18.3 points and 10.3 rebounds this year and leads BYU in points, rebounds, steals and blocks. He is ranked ninth nationally in rebounds and has the fourth highest combined scoring and rebounding averages in Division I. He is the nation's leading scorer and rebounder among players 6-foot-11 and taller. He has earned two national player of the week awards and two MWC weekly honors this year while leading BYU to its current 16-7 record.

Other Cougars who have been recent NABC All-District selections include Travis Hansen, who earned first-team honors last season, Mekeli Wesley, a first-teamer in 2001, and Terrell Lyday, a second-team pick in 2001.

Joining Araujo on this year's District 13 First Team are New Mexico's Danny Granger, Nevada's Kirk Snyder, Utah's Nick Jacobson and San Diego State's Aerick Sanders. MWC players on the second team include Colorado State's Matt Nelson, Utah's Andrew Bogut and Air Force's Tim Keller. UNLV's Odartey Blankson earned second-team honors from District 15.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, the student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across the country. The 150 student-athletes, from 15 districts, are now eligible for the NABC Division I All-American Team to be announced at the conclusion of the 2003-2004 NCAA men's basketball season.

For more information on the NABC, go to


District 1

First Team Second Team

Ryan Gomes, Providence Dawan Robinson, Rhode Island

Emeka Okafor, Connecticut Jose Barea, Northeastern

Ben Gordon, Connecticut Deng Gai, Fairfield

Taylor Coppenrath, Vermont Chaz Carr, Boston University

Craig Smith, Boston College Rashaun Freeman, Massachusetts

District 2

First Team Second Team

Hakim Warrick, Syracuse Kenny Adeleke, Hofstra

Luis Flores, Manhattan Dave Holmes, Manhattan

Gerry McNamara, Syracuse Ka'ron Barnes, Cornell

Marquez Green, St. Bonaventure Tremmell Darden, Niagara

Juan Mendez, St. Francis John Quintana, St. Francis

District 3

First Team Second Team

Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph's Keydren Clark, St. Peter's

Delonte West, St. Joseph's Jaron Brown, Pittsburgh

Andre Barrett, Seton Hall Gary Neal, LaSalle

David Hawkins, Temple Julius Page, Pittsburgh

Carl Krauser, Pittsburgh John Jagla, Penn State

District 4

First Team Second Team

Mike Skrocki, Richmond Gerald Riley, Georgetown

Bryant Matthews, Virginia Tech T.J. Thompson, George Washington

Adam Hess, William & Mary Tony Dobbins, Richmond

Alex Loughton, Old Dominion Mark Davis, George Mason

Domonic Jones, Virginia Commonwealth D'or Fischer, West Virginia

District 5

First Team Second Team

Julius Hodge, North Carolina State Sean May, North Carolina

J.J. Redick, Duke Kevin Martin, Western Carolina

Raymond Felton, North Carolina Rashad McCants, North Carolina

Chris Duhon, Duke Chris Paul, Wake Forest

Sheldon Williams, Duke B.J. Elder, Georgia Tech

District 6

First Team Second Team

Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State Timmy Bowers, Mississippi State

Anthony Roberson, Florida David Lee, Florida

Tim Pickett, Florida State Morris Finley, Alabama-Birmingham

Justin Reed, Mississippi Marco Killingsworth, Auburn

Darius Rice, Miami Kennedy Winston, Alabama

District 7

First Team Second Team

Matt Freije, Vanderbilt Scooter McFagdon, Tennessee

Francisco Garcia, Louisville Antonio Burks, Memphis

Gerald Fitch, Kentucky Chuck Hayes, Kentucky

Cuthbert Victor, Murray State Ricky Minard, Morehead State

Erik Daniels, Kentucky Adrian Henning, Austin Peay

District 8

First Team Second Team

Andrew Wisniewski, Centenary Brandon Bass, Louisiana State

Jaime Lloreda, Louisiana State Nate Lofton, Southeastern Louisiana

Amir Abdur-Rahim, Southeastern Louisiana Johnell Smith, New Orleans

Paul Millsap, Louisiana Tech Paul Haynes, Grambling

Jermaine Wallace, Northwestern State J.J. Montgomery, Arkansas State

District 9

First Team Second Team

Andre Emmett, Texas Tech Brian Evans, Texas A&M-C.C.

Michael Harris, Rice Antoine Wright, Texas A&M

Brandon Mouton, Texas Leroy Hurd, Texas-San Antonio

Royal Ivey, Texas Jason McKrieth, Rice

Bryan Hopkins, Southern Methodist Antonio Burks, Stephen F. Austin

District 10

First Team Second Team

Bracey Wright, Indiana Keith Waleskowski, Dayton

Romain Sato, Xavier Keith Triplett, Toledo

Chris Thomas, Notre Dame Ramod Marshall, Dayton

Jason Maxiell, Cincinnati Derrick Tarver, Akron

Kenny Lowe, Purdue Tony Bobbitt, Cincinnati

District 11

First Team Second Team

Devin Harris, Wisconsin Jitim Young, Northwestern

Kris Humphries, Minnesota Mike Williams, Western Michigan

Paul Davis, Michigan State Cedric Banks, Illinois-Chicago

Travis Diener, Marquette Mike Wilkinson, Wisconsin

Dylan Page, Wisconsin-Milwaukee Deron Williams, Illinois

District 12

First Team Second Team

Wayne Simien, Kansas Keith Langford, Kansas

Tony Allen, Oklahoma State Jake Sullivan, Iowa State

David Harrison, Colorado Michael Watson, Missouri-Kansas City

Arthur Johnson, Missouri Rickey Paulding, Missouri

John Lucas, Oklahoma State Caleb Green, Oral Roberts

District 13

First Team Second Team

Rafael Araujo, Brigham Young Michael Kuebler, Hawaii

Danny Granger, New Mexico Matt Nelson, Colorado State

Kirk Snyder, Nevada Andrew Bogut, Utah

Nick Jacobson, Utah Jason Erickson, Montana State

Aerick Sanders, San Diego State Tim Keller, Air Force

District 14

First Team Second Team

Blake Steppe, Gonzaga Justin Davis, Stanford

Luke Jackson, Oregon Matt Lottich, Stanford

Ronnie Turiaf, Gonzaga Leon Powe, California-Berkeley

Josh Childress, Stanford Cory Violette, Gonzaga

Chris Hernandez, Stanford Marcus Moore, Washington State

District 15

First Team Second Team

Ike Diogu, Arizona State Odartey Blankson, Nevada-Las Vegas

Channing Frye, Arizona Pape Sow, Cal State Fullerton

Desmond Farmer, Southern California Andre Iguodala, Arizona

Hassan Adams, Arizona Salim Stoudamire, Arizona

Dijon Thompson, UCLA Glen McGowan, Pepperdine