Awards, Honors Expressed at Season-Ending Banquet | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Awards, Honors Expressed at Season-Ending Banquet

Senior Travis Hansen was presented the team's Most Valuable Player Award Tuesday by the coaching staff. (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

Travis Hansen Named Most Valuable Player

PROVO -- BYU Head Basketball Coach Steve Cleveland expressed thanks to players, coaches and supporters and gave out several honors Tuesday at the annual BYU Men's Basketball Awards Banquet.

Cleveland paid a special tribute to outgoing BYU president, Merrill J. Bateman. "The reason I am here at BYU is because of President Bateman. He is a great man and has been extremely supportive. He has had a great vision for our program."

Bateman, who will conclude his tenure as BYU president at the end of April, was presented a framed, autographed BYU jersey.

Travis Hansen was recognized as the team's Most Valuable Player, as voted by the coaching staff. The 6-foot-6 senior guard helped BYU earn a share of the Mountain West Conference regular season title and an NCAA Tournament invitation with a 23-9 record. Hansen led the team in scoring and blocks and rated second in rebounds and assists.

"Travis is just a warrior," Cleveland said. "I appreciate his leadership with the team. We will miss him significantly. He came to BYU as a good person and I believe he is leaving as an even better one. He's just a complete young man. He will represent himself and his family very well in the world."

Junior swingman Mark Bigelow was named the team's Outstanding Offensive Player while junior point guard Kevin Woodberry garnered Outstanding Defensive Player honors. Junior center Rafael Araujo received awards for the Outstanding Rebounder and Most Improved Player. Sophomore point guard Terry Nashif earned the Academic Award as the player with the highest GPA.

Associate Head Coach Dave Rose presented awards to each of the players and recognized their contributions.

"In all my years of coaching I've never enjoyed working with a group of guys more than this group," Rose said. "Everyone of these guys means a great deal to our team. I appreciate the players who didn't get the chance to play as much in the games. They gave 100 percent in practice and made us better every day. They are an important reason we were successful as a team."

Cleveland also expressed his gratitude to the BYU administration, many support staff, his assistant coaches and staff, parents, wives, fans, and the media.

"We appreciate everyone who supports our program," Cleveland said. "We will continue to get better as a team. We plan to win conference championships, go to the NCAA Tournament and get to the Sweet 16. We look forward to another good year next year."


Most Valuable Player

Travis Hansen

Outstanding Offensive Player

Mark Bigelow

Outstanding Defensive Player

Kevin Woodberry

Outstanding Rebounder

Rafael Araujo

Most Improved Player

Rafael Araujo

Academic Award

Terry Nashif