BYU celebrates 2013-14 season at team banquet | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

BYU celebrates 2013-14 season at team banquet

(Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

PROVO, Utah – BYU men's basketball celebrated the 2013-14 season at its annual awards banquet Wednesday night at the Nu Skin headquarters in downtown Provo.

In 2013-14, the Cougars finished 23-12 overall and second in the West Coast Conference regular season (13-5) and tournament. The 23-wins extend a program record streak of nine-consecutive seasons with at least 20 victories. BYU received an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament, the program's seventh bid in the last eight years and ninth-straight trip to the postseason.

Other highlights in 2013-14 included Tyler Haws winning WCC Player of the Year and AP All-America honorable mention honors,  Kyle Collinsworth earning first-team All-WCC honors and Matt Carlino (honorable mention) and Eric Mika (all-freshman) also collecting all-league recognition.

Rose recognized and expressed gratitude to all those who made the 2013-14 season a success, including the players, coaches, coaches' wives, family members, doctors, trainers, managers, academic advisors and the many others who support the program.

Rose and his wife Cheryl also thanked outgoing BYU President Cecil O. Samuelson and his wife Sharon for their support. The Samuelsons have been strong supporters of the basketball program since Samuelson was named BYU's president on May 1, 2003. Samuelson's tenure as BYU president ends on May 1, 2014. Samuelson will be succeeded by Kevin J Worthen as the president of BYU.

Spencer Linton – BYU Sports Nation host and BYUtv play-by-play announcer — served as master of ceremonies and listed the numerous highlights, awards and milestones achieved by the team in 2013-14.

Rose presented the following team awards: