BYU Men's Basketball Schedule Announced for 1999-2000 Season

PROVO, Utah - The BYU Athletic Media Relations Department announced today the 1999-2000 schedule for the BYU men's basketball team.

Playing a potential 12 games against seven teams that earned post-season tournament berths last year, BYU enters Steve Cleveland's third year at the helm of the Cougars with the goal of qualifying for a post-season berth.

"From this point forward, our goal will always be to qualify for post-season play," said BYU coach Steve Cleveland, whose rebuilding efforts have steadily improved the Cougars in his first two seasons. "We play several conference champions this year and teams with post-season experience. We will see some teams that were on our schedule last year, including a rematch with nationally ranked Arizona."

In addition to Arizona, Utah, New Mexico and Weber State all earned berths to last year's NCAA Tournament while Colorado State, UNLV and Wyoming played in last year's NIT. Arizona finished the year ranked No. 10 with a 22-7 record, including an overtime win over BYU. Weber State won the Big Sky Conference and posted a 25-8 record, including a three-point win over the Cougars, on its way to a NCAA berth and tournament upset of North Carolina. South Carolina State and UC Santa Barbara finished the regular season on top of the MEAC and Big West conferences, respectively, last year.

BYU will play 14 games and two exhibitions in the Marriott Center and will travel from Florida to California for 13 road contests.

"We will be tested early with six of our non-conference games on the road," Cleveland said. "Our conference season will be exciting. I think the fans will enjoy seeing Mountain West Conference teams like UNLV, Wyoming and Colorado State coming to the Marriott Center on a yearly basis."

After two exhibition games in mid November, the Cougars officially open the 1999-2000 season at home against UC Riverside on Nov. 20 and Southern Utah on Nov. 24. After traveling for rematches against Arizona and Denver in early December, the Cougars return to Provo for four home games, sandwiching the Cougar Classic between dates with second Pac-10 foe Arizona State and MEAC champion South Carolina State. The Cougars will try to win their third straight Cougar Classic, opening with Texas Southern before facing either Western Oregon or the Harold Arceneaux-led Weber State Wildcats.

BYU travels cross country to end the year playing South Alabama (Dec. 21), Florida International (Dec. 23) and UC Santa Barbara (Dec. 29) before a rematch with Cleveland's alma mater UC Irvine in the Marriott Center (Jan. 5). BYU finishes its non-conference schedule in Logan against Utah State on Jan. 8. Last year the Cougars beat the Aggies 61-59 in the Marriott Center.

BYU's Mountain West season begins at UNLV on Jan. 10 and ends with home contests against Air Force and San Diego State the first week of March. The Cougars will face rival Utah on an ESPN Regional telecast Jan. 15 in the Marriott Center and will play the Utes in the Huntsman Center Feb. 12.

Playing the toughest schedule in the conference last year, BYU qualified for the WAC Tournament for the second consecutive year and won its first WAC Tournament game since 1994 with the 90-74 upset of TCU. This year Cleveland and the Cougars look to return to Las Vegas for the inaugural Mountain West Tournament March 8-11 while striving to achieve their goal of earning a post-season tournament bid.

BYU MEN'S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

1999-2000 SEASON

Date Opponent/Event Location

Wed, Nov 10 Worldwide (Exhibition) Provo, Utah

Tues, Nov 16 E.A. Sports (Exhibition) Provo, Utah

Sat, Nov 20 UC Riverside Provo, Utah

Wed, Nov 24 Southern Utah University Provo, Utah

Wed, Dec 1 at Arizona Tucson, Ariz.

Sat, Dec 4 at Denver Denver, Colo.

Tues, Dec 7 Arizona State University Provo, Utah

Fri, Dec, 10 - Cougar Classic Provo, Utah

Sat, Dec 11 Texas Southern

Weber State

Western Oregon

Sat, Dec 18 South Carolina State Provo, Utah

Tues, Dec 21 at South Alabama Mobile, Ala.

Thurs, Dec 23 at Florida International Miami, Fla.

Wed, Dec 29 at UC Santa Barbara Santa Barbara, Calif.

Wed, Jan 5 UC Irvine Provo, Utah

Sat., Jan 8 at Utah State Logan, Utah

Mon, Jan 10 at UNLV Las Vegas, Nev.

Sat, Jan 15 Utah Provo, Utah (ESPN Regional)

Thurs, Jan 20 Wyoming Provo, Utah

Sat, Jan 22 Colorado State Provo, Utah

Thurs, Jan 27 at Air Force Colorado Springs, Colo.

Sat, Jan 29 at New Mexico Albuquerque, N.M.

Thurs, Feb 3 at San Diego State San Diego, Calif.

Sat, Feb 12 at Utah Salt Lake City, Utah

Thurs, Feb 17 New Mexico Provo, Utah

Sat, Feb 19 UNLV Provo, Utah

Thurs, Feb 24 at Colorado State Fort Collins, Colo.

Sat, Feb 26 at Wyoming Laramie, Wyo.

Thurs, Mar 2 Air Force Provo, Utah

Sat, Mar 4 San Diego State Provo, Utah

Mar. 8-11 Mountain West Tournament Las Vegas, Nev.