Cummard Named to NABC All-District First Team | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Cummard Named to NABC All-District First Team

Lee Cummard has been named first-team NABC All-District for the second-straight year. (Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

KANSAS CITY -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches named BYU senior Lee Cummard to the NABC All-District 17 First Team on Thursday. The honor marks the second-straight season Cummard has earned NABC All-District First Team honors.

“Lee is very deserving of this award,” BYU head coach Dave Rose said. “He has been consistent not only this year but throughout his entire career. He is undoubtedly one of the best players in the western United States.”

In all, 240 student-athletes — from 24 districts which were realigned this season — were recognized as the nation's finest men's collegiate basketball players as selected and voted on by members of the NABC.

An honorable mention All-American and Mountain West Conference co-Player of the Year in 2008, Cummard leads BYU in scoring (17.1 points per game), blocked shots (26), three-point percentage (.413) and free throw percentage (.845). He is second in rebounding (6.4) and assists (3.2).

Cummard, a candidate to repeat as the MWC Player of the Year, has reached double figures in 25 of 29 games this season while scoring 20 or more points on 10 occasions. He has posted season highs of 36 points, 12 rebounds, six assists and four blocks. Cummard is ranked in the top-10 in nine statistical categories in the MWC.

Currently ranked 11th all-time in scoring at BYU, Cummard is also sixth in career steals and fourth in made threes. Having played all 127 games in his career Cummard is one game from tying the BYU record for consecutive games played and two from tying the record for career games played.

Joining Cummard on the District 17 First Team are Utah’s Luke Nevill, UNLV’s Wink Adams and Kyle Spain and Lorenzo Wade of San Diego State. The Second Team includes Brandon Ewing of Wyoming, Tony Dandridge and Daniel Faris of New Mexico, Kevin Langford of TCU and Rene Rougeau of UNLV.

The all-district honorees are now eligible for the State Farm Coaches’ Division I All-America teams to be announced on Saturday, April 4, as part of the 2009 NABC Convention in Detroit.

About the National Association of Basketball Coaches

Located in Kansas City, Mo., the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently claims nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches.

BYU players have received all-district recognition from the NABC 85 times since 1950. Last season Cummard and Trent Plaisted earned First Team honors. Mekeli Wesley was the last BYU player to earn honors in back-to-back years, garnering second-team recognition in 2000 and first-team honors in 2001. Russell Larson was the last Cougar to be named to the First Team in back-to-back seasons in 1994 and 1995. Following is a list of BYU’s honorees:

Yr.- Player (team)

50—Mel Hutchins

50—Joe Nelson

50—Roland Minson

51—Mel Hutchins

51—Roland Minson

52—Joe Richey

52—Harold Christensen (HM)

53—Joe Richey

53—Harold Christensen (HM)

53—Nick Mateljan (HM)

54—Nick Mateljan

54—Dean Larsen

54—Tom Karren

55—Terry Tebbs

56—Terry Tebbs

56—Herschel Pederson

57—Tom Steinke

57—John Benson

58—John Nicoll (1)

59—John Nicoll (1)

59—Gary Earnest (2)

60—Dave Eastis (1)

61—Gary Earnest (1)

61—Dave Eastis (2)

62—Bruce Burton (2)

62—Bob Skousen (3)

63—Bruce Burton (2)

64—John Fairchild (1)

65—John Fairchild (1)

65—Dick Nemelka (2)

66—Dick Nemelka (1)

66—Steve Kramer (2)

66—Jeff Congdon (3)

67—Craig Raymond (1)

67—Neil Roberts (2)

67—Jim Jimas (3)

68—Jim Eakins (2)

68—Kari Liimo (3)

69—Paul Ruffner (2)

71—Steve Kelly (3)

71—Kresimir Cosic (3)

72—Kresimir Cosic (1)

72—Bernie Fryer (1)

73—Kresimir Cosic (1)

73—Doug Richards (3)

74—Doug Richards (1)

76—Jay Cheesman (2)

78—Danny Ainge (2)

79—Danny Ainge (1)

80—Danny Ainge (1)

80—Alan Taylor (2)

81—Danny Ainge (1)

81—Fred Roberts (2)

82—Fred Roberts (1)

82—Steve Trumbo (1)

83—Devin Durrant (1)

83—Greg Kite (2)

83—Brett Applegate (2)

84—Devin Durrant (1)

84—Brett Applegate (2)

85—Timo Saarelainen (1)

86—Jeff Chatman (2)

87—Michael Smith (1)

88—Michael Smith (1)

88—Jeff Chatman (1)

89—Michael Smith (1)

90—Marty Haws (1)

90—Andy Toolson (2)

91—Shawn Bradley (2)

91—Steve Schreiner (2)

92—Gary Trost (1)

93—Gary Trost (1)

94—Russell Larson (1)

95—Russell Larson (1)

95—Ken Roberts (2)

96—Ken Roberts (1)

00—Mekeli Wesley (2)

01—Mekeli Wesley (1)

01—Terrell Lyday (2)

03—Travis Hansen (1)

04—Rafael Araujo (1)

07—Keena Young (1)

08—Lee Cummard (1)

08—Trent Plaisted (1)

09—Lee Cummard (1)

2009-NABC-Division-I-All-District-Teams.pdf112.25 KB