Emery and Fredette Earn NABC All-District Honors | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Emery and Fredette Earn NABC All-District Honors

Jackson Emery and Jimmer Fredette have earned NABC All-District honors. (Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

KANSAS CITY -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) has named BYU’s senior guards Jimmer Fredette and Jackson Emery to its All-District 17 team. Both are repeat honorees with Fredette being named to the first team and Emery to the second team.

Together, Fredette and Emery have led the Cougars to a 28-3 record in the regular season, a share of the Mountain West Conference regular season title at 14-2 and a top 10 ranking for the past eight weeks. This is the third season the duo has been BYU’s starting backcourt, having led the Cougars to 83 victories, two MWC titles and two trips to the NCAA Tournament.

Fredette adds the all-district recognition to a growing list of awards that includes CBSSports.com National Player of the Year, several first-team All-America honors (FoxSports.com, Yahoo! Sports and CBSSport.com), MWC Player of the Year and a spot on the All-MWC First Team.

The Glens Falls, N.Y., native leads the nation in scoring at 27.9 points per game and adds 4.3 assists and 1.5 steals per game. He has scored 20-plus points 27 times and 30-plus points 11 times. Fredette is three points from setting BYU’s single-season scoring record held by Devin Durrant and 73 from passing Danny Ainge for the career scoring record.

Emery was named the MWC’s Defensive Player of the Year and earned a spot on the All-Defensive Team and the All-MWC Second Team. BYU’s all-time steals leader (235), the Alpine, Utah, native averages 12.6 points, 3.5 boards, 2.6 assists and 2.8 steals per game. He needs five takeaways to break his own single-season steals record of 91.

CLICK HERE to view the complete 2011 NABC Division I All-District Teams.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 245 student-athletes, from 24 districts, are eligible for the State Farm Coaches’ Division I All- America teams, to be announced on Saturday, April 2, at 9:30 a.m. (EDT) at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston during the NABC Convention and NCAA Final Four.