Fredette Earns Lute Olson All-America Honors | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Fredette Earns Lute Olson All-America Honors

Jimmer Fredette has been named to the Lute Olson All-America Team. (Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

BOSTON (MA) – BYU senior guard Jimmer Fredette has been named to the 2011 Lute Olson All-America team that was announced Friday. Rather selecting a first, second, third team and honorable mentions; the Lute Olson All-America squad is just one team.

Fredette led BYU to a 32-4 record – the best in the history of the program – while leading the nation in scoring at 28.9 points per game. In the postseason, Fredette led the Cougars to the Sweet 16 with wins over Wofford and Gonzaga. It marked the first time BYU had advanced to the second weekend of the tournament since 1981.

Along with a spot on the Lute Olson All-America team, Fredette has been named a first-team All-American by the USBWA, Sporting News, Basketball Times, Yahoo! Sports, and Sporting News, Basketball Times, and have named Fredette the national player of the year.

The 2011 Lute Olson All-America Team

Harrison Barnes, North Carolina

Keith Benson, Oakland

Marshon Brooks, Providence

Alec Burks, Colorado

Norris Cole, Cleveland State

Kenneth Faried, Morehead State

Jimmer Fredette, Brigham Young

Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston

Jordan Hamilton, Texas

Ben Hansbrough, Notre Dame

Justin Harper, Richmond

Tu Holloway, Xavier

Charles Jenkins, Hofstra

JaJuan Johnson, Purdue

Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State

Marcus Morris, Kansas

Adrian Oliver, San Jose State

Nolan Smith, Duke

Kyle Singler, Duke

Jared Sullinger, Ohio State

Kemba Walker, Connecticut

Derrick Williams, Arizona

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation’s top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

The 2011 Lute Olson Player of the Year will be announced at the awards banquet on April 1 in Houston, site of the men’s basketball championship.

The award is named in honor of coaching great Lute Olson, who won 780 games in 34 seasons, 24 of which were spent at the University of Arizona. During that stretch he led the Wildcats to 11 Pac-10 Conference titles, 23 consecutive NCAA Tournaments, four Final Four appearances and a National Championship in 1997.