Hartsock Earns All-District Honors

(Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

PROVO – BYU senior forward Noah Hartsock has been named to the United States Basketball Writers Association All-District VIII team. A native of Bartlesville, Okla., Hartsock was also named to the All-West Coast Conference team last week.

Hartsock leads BYU in scoring (16.7 points per game), blocks (52), field goal percentage (.565) and free throw percentage (.839). He also adds 5.2 rebounds and 1.5 assists per game and has scored in double figures 29 times and 20-plus points 11 times. Hartsock has registered three double-doubles this season.

For his career, Hartsock has scored 1,153 points (29th all-time at BYU) and blocked 174 shots (third all-time at BYU). His career shooting percentages are .543 from the field, .379 from three and .817 from the free throw line.

The USBWA District VIII includes all NCAA Division I institutions from Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana. Nine districts are represented from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each.

2012 USBWA District VIII Honors

Player of the Year

  • Damian Lillard, Weber State

Coach of the Year

  • Tim Miles, Colorado State

All-District VIII

  • Will Cherry, Montana
  • Wes Eikmeier, Colorado State
  • Drew Gordon, New Mexico
  • Noah Hartsock, BYU
  • Damian Lillard, Weber State
  • Michael Lyons, Air Force
  • Wendell McKines, New Mexico State
  • Mike Moser, UNLV
  • Andre Roberson, Colorado
  • Malik Story, Nevada

BYU’s USBWA All-District Honorees Since 2003