Haws and Davies receive USBWA All-District honors | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Haws and Davies receive USBWA All-District honors

(Photo by BYU Photo/Mark Philbrick)

PROVO, Utah – The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) named BYU's Brandon Davies and Tyler Haws to its All-District VIII team on Tuesday.

Davies and Haws have led the Cougars to a record of 21-11 overall and 10-6 in West Coast Conference action.

A senior forward, Davies is second on the team in scoring (17.6) and first in rebounding (7.8). He also adds 2.5 assists, 1.0 blocks and 1.4 steals while shooting .533 from the field. The Provo, Utah, native also earned All-WCC honors. This marks the first USBWA All-District honor for Davies, who is currently in the top 12 in BYU history in career points, rebounds, blocks, steals and double-doubles.

Haws, also an All-WCC honoree, is the top scorer for BYU and in the WCC and 11th in the nation at 20.9 points per game. The sophomore guard from Alpine, Utah, also averages 4.6 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 1.3 steals while shooting .473 from the field, .386 from three and .868 from the free throw line. Haws joined Danny Ainge as the only players in team history to reach 1,000 career points during their sophomore season.

The USBWA District VIII includes all NCAA Division I institutions from Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana. Nine districts are represented from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each division. The 2012-13 Men's All-District Teams are based on voting from its national membership.

District VIII Player of the Year

Andre Roberson, Colorado

District VIII Coach of the Year

Steve Alford, New Mexico

All-District Team

  • Anthony Bennett, UNLV
  • Brandon Davies, BYU
  • Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
  • Tyler Haws, BYU
  • Colton Iverson, Colorado State
  • Alex Kirk, New Mexico
  • Michael Lyons, Air Force
  • Anthony Marshall, UNLV
  • Andre Roberson, Colorado
  • Kendall Williams, New Mexico

BYU’s USBWA All-District Honorees Since 2003