Haws named a finalist for the 2014 Lou Henson Award | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Haws named a finalist for the 2014 Lou Henson Award

(Photo by BYU Photo/Mark Philbrick)

BOSTON – CollegeInsider.com has named BYU junior guard Tyler Haws a finalist for the 2014 Lou Henson Award.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. All finalists have also been named to the 2013-14 Lou Henson All-America team.

"This is without question the best group of finalists we have ever had," said CollegeInsider.com's Angela Lento. "Selecting the player of the year from this group will not be easy."

Haws led BYU to a 23-12 record, the WCC championship game and an at-large bid to the 2014 NCAA Tournament. He led the WCC in scoring and is sixth in the nation at 23.2 points per game. In addition to the Lou Henson honors, Haws has been named the WCC Player of the Year, first-team All-WCC and has received first-team all-district honors from the NABC and USBWA.

Previous recipients of the award include Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary's, 2013), Kyle O'Quinn (Norfolk State, 2012), Matt Howard (Butler, 2011) and Keith Benson (Oakland 2010).

When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The winner of the 2014 Henson award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the Division I Men's Basketball Championship.

*Ron Baker (Wichita State), Billy Baron (Canisius) and Cleanthony Early (Wichita State) were named to the Lute Olson All-America Team.


Ike Azotam, Quinnipiac

Travis Bader, Oakland

George Beamon, Manhattan

Taylor Braun, North Dakota State

Alec Brown, Green Bay

David Brown, Western Michigan

Julius Brown, Toledo

Glenn Cosey, Eastern Kentucky

Torrey Craig, USC Upstate

Langston Hall, Mercer

Tyler Haws, BYU

Troy Huff, North Dakota

R.J. Hunter, Georgia State

Jeremy Ingram, North Carolina Central

Kareem Jamar, Montna

J.J. Mann, Belmont

Z. Mason, Chattanooga

Javon McCrea, Buffalo

Aaric Murray, Texas Southern

Jake Odum, Indiana State

Jacob Parker, Stephen F. Austin

Elfrid Payton, Louisiana Lafayette

Devon Saddler, Delaware

Wesley Saunders, Harvard

Justin Sears, Yale

Kiefer Sykes, Green Bay

Jameel Warney, Stony Brook

Jalan West, Northwestern State

Alan Williams, UC Santa Barbara

Pendarvis Williams, Nofolk State