MWC Announces 2001-02 Television Schedule

COLORADO SPRINGS -- The Mountain West Conference in conjunction with television partners ABC/ESPN/ESPN2 and ESPN Regional Television (ESPN+Plus) released its 2001-02 men's basketball television schedule today. BYU will be featured in seven games, two more than it played last year.

The Cougars will play one game each on ABC, ESPN and ESPN2 and four times on ESPN+Plus. BYU will not host a 10 p.m. Big Monday game in the Marriott Center in 2001-02 after appearing twice at home last year with Big Monday wins over UNLV and Utah. The Cougars will be one of only four MWC schools to play on ABC this season.

BYU faces national power Stanford on ESPN2 in the first of four away games included in the MWC's 2001-02 television package. The BYU-Stanford game will be played Dec. 22 at 7:30 p.m. MST at the Thomas & Mack Center as part of the Las Vegas Showdown. BYU will also play at New Mexico (Jan. 19 at 1 p.m.) on ESPN+Plus, at rival Utah (Jan. 28) in a 10 p.m. ESPN contest and at UNLV (Feb. 9 at 1:30 p.m.) on ABC. The Cougars will play three 1 p.m. ESPN+Plus contests in Provo against Wyoming (Feb. 2), New Mexico (Feb. 16) and Utah (Feb. 23).

A total of thirty-one games involving MWC teams will be televised by the networks. ABC will air four games featuring league institutions, while ESPN is slated to carry 13 contests, including eight as part of its "Big Monday" package. Two games are scheduled for ESPN2 and ESPN Regional Television (ESPN+Plus) will produce and syndicate 12 contests as the "Mountain West Conference Game of the Week." ESPN+Plus games in Utah are aired on KJZZ-TV, channel 14.

Utah will make the most appearances on the schedule with 10 games, followed by BYU's seven. Wyoming and New Mexico will appear six times, followed by UNLV with five, San Diego State with three, Air Force with two and Colorado State once.

For the third consecutive season every game of the EAS Mountain West Conference Men's Basketball Championship will be televised.

BYU's MWC Television Games

ABC

Saturday, February 9 BYU at UNLV 12:30 p.m. PST

ESPN

Monday, January 28 BYU at Utah 10:00 p.m. MST

ESPN2

Saturday, December 22 Stanford vs. BYU (LV Showdown) 7:30 p.m. MST

ESPN REGIONAL TELEVISION (ESPN+Plus)

Saturday, January 19 BYU at New Mexico 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, February 2 Wyoming at BYU 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, February 16 New Mexico at BYU 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, February 23 Utah at BYU 1:00 p.m. MST

Entire 2001-02 MWCMen's Basketball Television Schedule:

ABC

Saturday, December 29 San Diego State at Duke 1:30 p.m. MST

Saturday, December 29 Texas at Utah 1:30 p.m. MST

Sunday, February 3 DePaul at UNLV 12:00 noon PST

Saturday, February 9 BYU at UNLV 12:30 p.m. PST

ESPN

Tuesday, November 13 Wyoming at USC (Preseason-NIT) 7:30 p.m. MST

Saturday, December 22 Texas at UNLV (LV Showdown) 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, January 7 Gonzaga at New Mexico 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, January 14 Air Force at New Mexico 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, January 21 Wyoming at San Diego State 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, January 28 BYU at Utah 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, February 4 Wyoming at Utah 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, February 11 Utah at UNLV 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, February 18 New Mexico at Utah 10:00 p.m. MST

Monday, February 25 Wyoming at New Mexico 10:00 p.m. MST

ESPN2

Monday, November 26 Utah at Alabama 5:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, December 22 Stanford vs. BYU (LV Showdown) 7:30 p.m. MST

ESPN REGIONAL TELEVISION (ESPN+Plus)

Saturday, January 12 UNLV at Utah 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, January 19 BYU at New Mexico 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, January 26 Air Force at Colorado State 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, February 2 Wyoming at BYU 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, February 9 Utah at San Diego State 3:00 p.m. PST

Saturday, February 16 New Mexico at BYU 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, February 23 Utah at BYU 1:00 p.m. MST

Saturday, March 2 Utah at Wyoming 1:00 p.m. MST

2002 EAS MOUNTAIN WEST CONFERENCE BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP

Thursday, March 7 Quarterfinal Game #1 ERT 12:00 p.m. PST

Thursday, March 7 Quarterfinal Game #2 ERT 2:30 p.m. PST

Thursday, March 7 Quarterfinal Game #3 ERT 6:00 p.m. PST

Thursday, March 7 Quarterfinal Game #1 ESPN 9:00 p.m. PST

Friday, March 8 Semifinal Game #1 ERT 6:00 p.m. PST

Friday, March 8 Semifinal Game #2 ESPN 9:00 p.m. PST

Saturday, March 9 Championship Game ESPN 7:00 p.m. PST