USBWA Names Fredette an All-American | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

USBWA Names Fredette an All-American

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

ST. LOUIS -- BYU senior guard Jimmer Fredette is one of 10 standout players representing seven conferences that have been selected to the 2010-11 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team. Fredette is one of three seniors – along with Purdue forward/center JaJuan Johnson and Duke guard Nolan Smith – that headline the first-team selections. Joining those three are Connecticut junior guard Kemba Walker and Ohio State freshman forward Jared Sullinger.

Fredette is the nation’s leading scorer at 28.5 points per game and was named the MWC and USBWA District VIII Player of the Year. He has led BYU to a 30-4 record and a share of the MWC regular season title with a 14-2 league record. Fredette has scored 30-plus points 13 times and topped 40 points six times. He set a BYU record with 52 points in the MWC Tournament against New Mexico and is the program’s career scoring leader with 2,501 points.

The second team consists of Morehead State forward/center Kenneth Faried, Texas guard/forward Jordan Hamilton, Notre Dame guard Ben Hansbrough, Kansas forward Marcus Morris and Arizona forward Derrick Williams.

The Big East, Big Ten and Big 12 each boast a pair of All-Americans and, although Duke, Kansas, Notre Dame and Ohio State have players on the team for a second consecutive season, each of the ten players honored this season by the USBWA is a All-America selection for the first time. Other conferences represented on the All-America team are the ACC, Mountain West, Ohio Valley and Pac-10. Hansbrough is the brother of three-time USBWA All-American and 2008 Oscar Robertson Trophy winner Tyler Hansbrough.

Each of the first-team selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced Monday, March 28 and presented on Friday, April 1 at the 2011 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

On Tuesday, the USBWA will announce the winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award to be presented to the national freshman of the year. Next Monday, March 21, the association will announce the winner of its Henry Iba Award to be presented to the national coach of the year.


First Team Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown

Jimmer Fredette, BYU G 6-2 195 Sr. Glens Falls, N.Y.

JaJuan Johnson, Purdue F/C 6-10 221 Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.

Nolan Smith, Duke G 6-2 185 Sr. Upper Marlboro, Md.

Jared Sullinger, Ohio State F 6-9 280 Fr. Columbus, Ohio

Kemba Walker, Connecticut G 6-1 172 Jr. Bronx, N.Y.

Second Team Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown

Kenneth Faried, Morehead State F/C 6-8 228 Sr. Newark, N.J.

Jordan Hamilton, Texas G/F 6-7 220 So. Compton, Calif.

Ben Hansbrough, Notre Dame G 6-3 203 Sr. Poplar Bluff, Mo.

Marcus Morris, Kansas F 6-9 235 Jr. Philadelphia, Pa.

Derrick Williams, Arizona F 6-8 241 So. La Mirada, Calif.