Wesley Named to NABC College All-Star Team | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Wesley Named to NABC College All-Star Team

MINNEAPOLIS -- BYU forward Mekeli Wesley is one of 11 seniors selected to National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) College All-Star Team, it was announced today by the NABC.

The 11 seniors will compete in the NABC Roundball Challenge presented by Ocean Spray pitting the NABC College All-Stars against the world famous Harlem Globetrotters in a competitive game Friday, March 30th at the Target Center. The game, which begins at 7 p.m. (CST), is part of the activities of the 74th annual NABC Convention in conjunction with the NCAA Final Four weekend.

Wesley, the Mountain West Conference Player of the Year, was BYU's top scorer and rebounder while leading the Cougars to their first conference championship since 1993, first MWC Tournament title since 1992 and first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1995. Wesley joins 10 other top college seniors, highlighted by Pac-10 Player of the Year Sean Lampley of California and local star Terrance Simmons of Minnesota.

Marcus Griffin of Illinois, fresh off the Illini's appearance in the Elite Eight, and Tarvis Williams of Hampton, the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Player of the Year, were also selected to the All-Star roster. Williams led the Pirates to a NCAA First Round upset over Iowa State.

The roster is rounded out by All-Big Ten selection Dean Oliver of Iowa, All-SEC pick Anthony Evans of Georgia, Big 12 Tournament MVP Nolan Johnson of Oklahoma, All-Atlantic 10 guard Tony Stanley of Dayton, the NCAA's No. 2 scorer Kyle Hill of Eastern Illinois, and Kansas center Eric Chenowith.

Legendary Purdue coach and NABC President Gene Keady will lead the senior hoopsters against the world's most celebrated barnstorming team in a straight-up, competitive game.

The NABC All-Star Game's rich history includes more than 200 of its alumni going on to become first-round picks in the NBA Draft. Former NABC All-Stars David Robinson, John Stockton, Tim Hardaway and Mitch Richmond headline the 80-plus list of alums playing in the NBA today. In addition, 10 members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame finished their collegiate careers playing as an NABC All-Star, most notably Pete Maravich, Bill Bradley and Rick Barry.

Part of the All-Star Game hoopla includes the 12th annual NABC Slam Dunk Championship and Hot Shot Challenge. A select group of all-stars and Globetrotters will compete in those pre game events beginning at 7 p.m. Tickets ($21.50, $17.50, $13.50) are available through all TicketMaster outlets, the Target Center box office or charge by phone at 651-989-5151. Groups of 10 or more will receive a $4.00 discount. For more information on tickets call the Target Center box office at 612-673-0900.




No. Name School Pos. Ht. Wt. Hometown

44 CHENOWITH, Eric Kansas C 7-1 270 Villa Park, Calif.

4 EVANS, Anthony Georgia F 6-7 265 Stone Mountain, Ga.

52 GRIFFIN, Marcus Illinois F 6-9 235 Peoria, Ill.

11 HILL, Kyle Eastern Illinois G 6-2 180 Summit, Ill.

5 JOHNSON, Nolan Oklahoma G 6-4 220 Brooklyn, N.Y.

21 LAMPLEY, Sean California F 6-7 225 Chicago, Ill.

20 OLIVER, Dean Iowa G 5-11 175 Mason City, Iowa

23 SIMMONS, Terrance Minnesota G 6-3 185 Haughton, La.

12 STANLEY, Tony Dayton G 6-4 200 Philadelphia, Pa.

15 WESLEY, Mekeli Brigham Young F 6-9 240 Provo, Utah

40 WILLIAMS, Tarvis Hampton C 6-9 200 Maysville, N.C.