Wesley Receives All-America Recognition | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Wesley Receives All-America Recognition

PROVO -- BYU senior forward Mekeli Wesley has been named honorable mention All-America by The Associated Press.

Wesley averaged 17.0 points and 5.5 rebounds while leading the Cougars to a share of the Mountain West Conference championship, the MWC Tournament title and an NCAA Tournament berth. He was named MWC Player of the Year and MWC Tournament MVP.

Wesley becomes the first BYU player to earn All-America honors since Michael Smith was selected to the Basketball Weekly Third Team in 1988-89. Smith also garnered BYU's previous All-America award from The Associated Press, receiving AP Third Team honors in 1987-88.


(The Associated Press on Wednesday, March 14)


Shane Battier, Duke, 6-8, 220, senior, 19.5 ppg, 6.8 rpg, 2.1 steals

Jason Williams, Duke, 6-2, 196, sophomore, 20.8, ppg, 6.2 apg, 1.9 steals

Joseph Forte, North Carolina, 6-4, 185, sophomore, 21.6 ppg, 6.0 rpg, 3.6 apg, 2.0 steals

Troy Murphy, Notre Dame, 6-10, 237, junior, 22.0 ppg, 9.2 rpg, 36.1 minutes

Casey Jacobsen, Stanford, 6-6, 210, sophomore, 18.0 ppg, 4.0 rpg, .504 fg pct., .466 3-pt pct., .804 ft pct.


Jamaal Tinsley, Iowa State, 6-3, 195, senior, 14.5 ppg, 6.0 apg, 2.5 steals

Troy Bell, Boston College, 6-1, 171, sophomore, 20.1 ppg, 4.1 rpg, 4.2 apg, 2.7 steals, .858 ft pct.

Jason Richardson, Michigan State, 6-6, 220, sophomore, 15.5 ppg, 5.9 rpg, .529 fg pct.

Michael Bradley, Villanova, 6-10, 245, junior, 21.4 ppg, 10.1 rpg, .693 fg pct, 1.9 blocks

Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky, 6-9, 215, junior, 16.5 ppg, 6.6 rpg, .832 ft pct.


Frank Williams, Illinois, 6-3, 205, sophomore, 14.9 ppg, 3.5 rpg, 4.3 apg, 2.0 steals

Michael Wright, Arizona, 6-7, 238, junior, 16.4 ppg, 8.2 rpg, .591 fg pct.

Charlie Bell, Michigan State, 6-3, 200, senior, 13.9 ppg, 4.4 rpg, 5.4 apg

Udonis Haslem, Florida, 6-7, 260, junior, 16.6 ppg, 7.3 rpg, .598 fg pct.

Kirk Haston, Indiana, 6-10, 230, junior, 18.7 ppg, 8.7 rpg


Gilbert Arenas, Arizona

Craig Austin, Columbia

Cory Bradford, Illinois

Tarise Bryson, Illinois State

Torrey Butler, Coastal Carolina

Casey Calvary, Gonzaga

Jarron Collins, Stanford

Jason Collins, Stanford

Juan Dixon, Maryland

Teddy Dupay, Florida

Melvin Ely, Fresno State

George Evans, George Mason

Reggie Evans, Iowa

Jason Gardner, Arizona

Kenny Gregory, Kansas

Jerry Green, UC Irvine

Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall

Trenton Hassell, Austin Peay

Brendan Haywood, North Carolina

Brian Heinle, Cal State-Northridge

Dewayne Jefferson, Mississippi Valley State

Joe Johnson, Arkansas

Ken Johnson, Ohio State

Rahsaan Johnson, Monmouth

Jason Kapono, UCLA

Sean Lampley, California

Steve Logan, Cincinnati

Shernard Long, Georgia State

Jody Lumpkin, College of Charleston

Demond Mallet, McNeese State

Chris Marcus, Western Kentucky

Ronnie McCollum, Centenary

Jeff Monaco, Southern Utah

Terence Morris, Maryland

Brett Nelson, Florida

Rashad Phillips, Detroit

Norman Richardson, Hofstra

Kareem Rush, Missouri

Preston Shumpert, Syracuse

Demond Stewart, Niagara

Tim Szatko, Holy Cross

David Webber, Central Michigan

Mekeli Wesley, Brigham Young

David West, Xavier

Rodney White, Charlotte

Tarvis Williams, Hampton

Loren Woods, Arizona