National Success

With seven top-20 finishes in as many years for the BYU Cross Country team, the Cougar distance squad continues to be a strong force among the nation's elite. Domination at the conference level has only been part of the success of Eyestone’s team of talented runners. In the 2006 season, senior Josh Rohatinsky did what only his coach had done at BYU before: He brought home the National Champion title.


The team benefits from the outstanding coaching skills of two-time Olympian Ed Eyestone. Eyestone’s ability to mold already gifted athletes into national powerhouses has developed BYU’s repuation as one of the top distance schools nationwide. The Cougars have qualified for Nationals every year since Eyestone’s arrival in 2000.


Upon graudation, many of the nation’s elite are offered endorsements to continue their running at a professional level. BYU has several previous athletes currently competing at this level: 
Josh McAdams
Kyle Perry
Josh Rohatinsky


2008 Josh McAdams 3,000m Steeple
2000 Jason Pyrah 1,500m (10th)
1996 Jason Pyrah 1,500m
1992 Ed Eyestone Marathon
1988 Henry Marsh 3,000m Steeple
1988 Doug Padilla 5,000m
1988 Ed Eyestone Marathon
1984 Paul Cummings 10,000m
1984 Henry Marsh 3,000m Steeple
1984 Doug Padilla 5,000m
1980 Henry Marsh 3,000m Steeple
1976 Henry Marsh 3,000m Steeple (10th)
1976 Lasse Viren Marathon (5th)
1976 Lasse Viren 5,000m (1st)
1976 Lasse Viren 10,000m (1st)
1976 Laman Palma Marathon
1972 Lasse Viren 5,000m (1st)
1972 Lasse Viren 10,000m (1st)
1972 Pekka Vasala 1,500m (1st)
1972 Usuia Sotutu 5,000m Steeple
1972 Usuia Sotutu 3,000m Steeple
1948 Clarence Robison 5,000m