Academic All-MWC for 30 Cougars | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Academic All-MWC for 30 Cougars

BJ Peterson was one of 30 members of the BYU football team named Academic All-MWC. (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

COLORADO SPRINGS -- BYU football boasted 30 student-athletes named to the Academic All-Mountain West Conference Team as announced by the league on Thursday.

Cougars who coupled All-MWC honors with the conference academic recognition included defensive back Andrew Rich, offensive lineman Matt Reynolds, kicker Mitch Payne, linebacker Shane Hunter and offensive lineman Braden Hansen.

Also among those honored was junior running back Bryan Kariya, a Chinese major who earned second-team Academic All-America honors this past season.

Nineteen of those Cougars recognized are multiple-year honorees, including four three-year honorees and two student-athletes - Nick Alletto and Mitch Payne - who earned the recognition all four years of their eligibility.

After tying Colorado State in 2001, BYU football has led the conference in all-academic selections for nine-straight years. In 2010, BYU's 30 honorees led all conference institutions as Utah had 18 followed by San Diego State with 14, Air Force and New Mexico with 13, TCU with eight and UNLV with four.

To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their athletic team.

2011 BYU Academic All-MWC

Nick Alletto Sr. OL

Braden Brown So. OL

Corby Eason Jr. DB

JD Falslev Fr. PR

Ryan Folsom Fr. RB

David Foote So. RB

Jameson Frazier Jr. LB

Romney Fuga Jr. DL

Braden Hansen Jr. OL

Connell Hess So. LB

Austin Holt Fr. TE

Shane Hunter Sr. LB

McKay Jacobson Jr. WR

Landon Jaussi Sr. DB

Bryan Kariya Jr. RB

Marcus Mathews Fr. TE

Zed Mendenhall So. RB

Zeke Mendenhall Sr. DB

Mike Muehlmann Fr. TE

Riley Nelson Jr. QB

Brandon Ogletree So. LB

Mitch Payne Sr. K

BJ Peterson Sr. WR

Houston Reynolds Fr. OL

Matt Reynolds Jr. OL

Andrew Rich Sr. DB

Jordan Richardson So. DL

Tom Steele So. LB

Marco Thorson Jr. OL

Dalin Tollestrup So. DB