Andrew Rich Among Nominees for Inaugural Burlsworth Trophy | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Andrew Rich Among Nominees for Inaugural Burlsworth Trophy

(Photo by Jaren Wilkey/BYU Photo)

FAYETTEVILLE -- BYU senior safety Andrew Rich is among the nominees from across the country announced today for the inaugural Burlsworth Trophy.

In honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former University of Arkansas walk-on and All-American offensive lineman, the award will be given to the collegiate player who began his career as a walk-on and has shown outstanding performance on the field. Nominees must have began their first season of participation with a Division 1 (FBS) football program without financial aid from their athletic department.

After joining BYU as a walk-on player, Rich has gone on to earn a starting role and become an All-Mountain West Conference performer. A team captain in 2010, Rich leads BYU with 89 tackles and three forced fumbles through 10 games while adding five pass breakups, one interception and one fumble recovery.

“We are very excited to see so many nominees for the first year of this award,” said Marty Burlsworth, founder and CEO of the Burlsworth Foundation and brother of Brandon. “Like Brandon, all of these players have shown amazing work ethic and determination on and off the field.”

Without one Division 1 scholarship offer, Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Razorback team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.

Finalists will be named on Dec. 1 with the winner announced on Dec. 15. A banquet will be held in honor of the winner on Feb. 7, 2011 in Springdale, Ark. hosted by the Springdale Rotary Club.

2010 Burlsworth Trophy Nominees

Player Class Position School

Andrew Abbott SOPH Cornerback UCLA

Howard Barbieri SR Center Rutgers University

Devin Barclay SR Place Kicker Ohio State University

Marcus Bartels JR Free Safety Florida Atlantic University

Sean Bedford SR Center Georgia Tech

Travis Bradshaw JR Safety Rice University

Dylan Breeding SOPH Punter University of Arkansas

Matt Brown SOPH Tailback Temple University

Derek Chard SR Long Snapper University of Connecticut

Tyler Clark SR Center Troy University

Austin Davis JR Quarterback University of Southern Miss

Bradie Ewing JR Fullback Wisconsin

John Fairbanks SR Center University of Florida

Daniel Graff SR Defensive Back LSU

Brett Greenwood SR Defensive Back University of Iowa

Daniel Hardy SR Tight End University of Idaho

Adam Harris JR Fullback Syracuse

George Helow SR Cornerback Ole Miss

Alex Henery SR Punter Nebraska

Michael Hodges SR Linebacker Texas A&M

Steven Johnson JR Linebacker Kansas

Levi Koskan JR Defensive End Utah State University

Jordan Kovacs JR Safety University of Michigan

Spencer Lanning SR Kicker University of South Carolina

Logan Link SR Safety Purdue University

Will Lowery SOPH Defensive Back University of Alabama

Josh McNary SR Defensive End Army

Bryant Moniz JR Quarterback University of Hawaii

Aaron Nichols SR Wide Receiver Oregon State University

Matt Nicholson SR Linebacker University of Houston

Dak Notestine SR Defensive Lineman Ohio University

Bradley Spencer Ortego SR Punter Univ. of Louisiana Lafayette

Joe Phillips SR Kicker University of Utah

William Powell SR Running Back Kansas State University

Trent Ratterree SR Tight End University of Oklahoma

Grant Ressel JR Place Kicker University of Missouri

Nick Reveiz SR Linebacker University of Tennessee

Andrew Rich SR Safety BYU

Anthony Santella SR Punter University of Illinois

Broderick Sargent SOPH Defensive End Colorado State

Josh Smith SR Defensive Lineman East Carolina University

Bryant Ward SR Fullback Oklahoma State University

Jake Williams SR Wide Receiver Iowa State

Justin Winters SR Inside Linebacker Buffalo

Ryan Winterswyk SR Defensive End Boise State University