BYU fans can vote for the new College Football Playoff logo

(Photo by Jon Hardy/BYU)

PASADENA, Calif. -- Executive director Bill Hancock announced "College Football Playoff" will be the name of the four-team playoff, which begins after the 2014 regular season, replacing the Bowl Championship Series.

Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, will be awarded the College Football Playoff's first national championship game, to be held Jan. 12, 2015.

Also, the Fiesta, Cotton and Chick-fil-A bowls will join the Rose, Sugar and Orange bowls in the six-bowl semifinal rotation for the new playoff.

In preparation for the new playoff system, College Football Playoff is holding a fan vote to determine the organization's new logo. Fans may vote once per day, per device at The contest will run Tuesday, April 23, 2013, to Monday, April 29, 2013 at 3pm ET.

To learn more about the College Football Playoff visit this article on