BYU Football: A Polynesian Pipeline

(Photo by BYUtv Sports)

BYUtv highlights Polynesian football tradition at BYU in TV special premiering Wednesday

BYUtv will televise an hour-long special entitled "BYU Football: A Polynesian Pipeline" on Wednesday at 9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. MT.

Former BYU running back Alema Harrington (1984-88) hosts the special program which discusses the extensive history and importance of Polynesians playing football for the Cougars. The BYU football program has tapped into the Pacific Islands since 1951, with nearly 200 players of Polynesian heritage donning the Cougar blue since that time. 

Headlining the guests appearing on the program is legendary coach LaVell Edwards (1972-2000), who offers his insights on the great Polynesian tradition during his years at BYU. Joining the Hall of Fame coach are several former players from his era, including Vai Sikahema (1980-81, 83-85, running back/returner), Robert Anae (1980-84, offensive lineman and current assistant head coach and offensive coordinator), Steve Kaufusi (1985-87, defensive lineman and current defensive line coach), Rich Kaufusi (1989-90, defensive lineman), Mark Atuaia (1991, 94-96, running back and current running backs coach) and Gabe Reid (1999-2002, tight end). 

Current BYU head coach Bronco Mendenhall joins the show alongside Aaron Francisco (2001-04, defensive back), Fahu Tahi (1999, 2002-05, running back), Fui Vakapuna (2002-03, 06-08, running back), Ray Feinga (2004-08, offensive lineman), Manase Tonga (2005-09 running back) and Vic So'oto (2005-10, defensive lineman/linebacker).

In addition to the premier showing on Wednesday night, the show will be rebroadcast again that night (Midnight ET/10 p.m. MT) and Thursday morning (3 a.m. ET/1 a.m. MT) as well as Saturday (6 p.m. ET/4 p.m. MT). The special also will be available for on-demand viewing online at BYUtvSports.com.

BYUtv is available on channel 9403 for all Dish Network programming packages and on channel 374 for all DIRECTV programming packages (and channel 68 for SLC local channels package). BYUtv is also carried by nearly 600 cable TV providers nationwide and can be streamed live on the Internet at BYUtv.org or via the BYUtv App for iPhone and IPad. For more information on BYUtv, go to byutv.org.