BYU, Missouri announce a two-game football series; game one in Arrowhead Stadium | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

BYU, Missouri announce a two-game football series; game one in Arrowhead Stadium

(Photo by Dave Broberg/BYU Creative Design)

PROVO, Utah – Brigham Young University and the University of Missouri today announced the schools have agreed to a two-game football series in 2015 and 2020. The teams will meet at historic Arrowhead Stadium, home of the Kansas City Chiefs, on Nov. 14, 2015. The second game will be played at LaVell Edwards Stadium in Provo on Nov. 7, 2020. 

“It’s a great opportunity and challenge for our football team to play such a fine school as Missouri,” said BYU director of athletics Tom Holmoe. “They are a new SEC school with a rich football tradition going back to the Big 12. It will also be exciting for our team to play at Arrowhead Stadium in a region of the country where we haven't been in a while.”

The game in Kansas City will mark the first FBS game to be featured at Arrowhead Stadium since Missouri defeated Kansas on Nov. 26, 2011. Arrowhead has played host to 36 college football games throughout its 43-year history, including five Dr Pepper Big 12 Championship games.

BYU and Missouri have only met once in football, with the Cougars defeating the Tigers 21-17 in the 1983 Holiday Bowl on a halfback pass from Eddie Stinnett to Steve Young with just 23 seconds remaining in the game. Young achieved a rare feat in college football that night, scoring three touchdowns — one passing, one running and one receiving.

Missouri was founded in 1839 and began playing football in 1890. The Tigers are members of the Southeastern Conference, playing in the Eastern Division. Missouri has appeared in 30 bowl games and has won 15 conference championships. The Tigers are no stranger to football in Kansas City, having previously played 30 games in the city, including seven times at Arrowhead Stadium, going 5-2 overall from 2005-11.

BYU was founded in 1875 and began playing collegiate football in 1922. Over the past 40 seasons, only four FBS programs—Nebraska, Oklahoma, Ohio State and Florida State—have won more games than BYU while the Cougars have advanced to 32 bowl games, earned a top-25 ranking during 31 seasons and won the 1984 National Championship. Current head coach Bronco Mendenhall has led BYU to an 87-38 record since 2005 to rank 12th nationally in total victories while achieving a 6-3 bowl record—only Florida State has more bowl wins (7) over the past nine seasons. Off the field, BYU is tied for fifth for the most Academic All-Americans since 2005.

Kickoff times and broadcast plans for the series will be announced at a later date. For more information on BYU football, visit