Feterik Named Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Finalist | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Feterik Named Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Finalist

FORT WORTH, Texas - The Davey O'Brien Foundation today announced the top 10 candidates for the 1999 Davey O'Briend National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the top college quarterback in the nation. Included among the 10 finalists, BYU quarterback Kevin Feterik. The O'Brien Advisory Committee, composed of national sportswriters and commentators, narrowed the field of candidates from 25 and will vote again later this month to select a winner.

The top 10 candidates, in alphabetical order are: Major Applewhite (Texas), Drew Brees (Purdue), Kevin Feterik (BYU), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech), Tee Martin (Tennessee), Chad Pennington (Marshall), Tim Rattay (Louisiana Tech), Chris Redman (Louisville), Michael Vick (Virginia Tech) and Chris Weinke (Florida State).

The winner of the 1999 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced at the 1999 Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9, 1999, on ESPN at 3 p.m. (MST). The show will be broadcast live from the Field House at Disney's Wide World of Sports Complex in Orlando, Fla. The winner and two runners-up will be honored at the 23rd annual O'Brien Award Dinner, Feb. 21, 2000, at the Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas. Air transportation will be provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.