Feterik Selected as Davey O'Brien Award Candidate | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Feterik Selected as Davey O'Brien Award Candidate

PROVO, Utah -- BYU senior quarterback Kevin Feterik was today selected as one of 25 candidates for the presitgious Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, which recognizes the nation's top college quarterback.

The O'Brien Advisory Committee, which is made up of nationally known sportwriters and commentators, selected the list of 25 candidates today and will work to narrow the field throughout the remainder of the season.

The winner of the 1999 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced Dec. 9, 1999 during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in ESPN, which will be broadcast list from Orlando, Fla. The winner and two runners-up will be honored at the 23rd annual O'Brien Award Dinner at the Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas on Feb. 21, 2000. The award is named in honor of the late Davey O'Brien, the All-American and Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from Texas Christian University who led the Horned Frogs to the 1938 national championship.

Feterik is the 6th quarterback in BYU history to be named as a candidate for the Davey O'Brien Award. Of the five candidates before Feterik, Jim McMahon (1981), Steve Young (1983) and Ty Detmer (1990, 1991) have each won the award.