Four Cougars Named All-MWC | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Four Cougars Named All-MWC

BYU defensive lineman Vic So'oto was one of four All-MWC honorees, earning his first-career recognition (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

COLORADO Springs, Colo. (Nov. 30, 2010) - BYU senior safety Andrew Rich, senior defensive lineman Vic So'oto and junior offensive lineman Matt Reynolds were named All-Mountain West Conference First Team and junior running back JJ Di Luigi was named All-MWC Second Team as announced by the conference on Tuesday.

In addition, seven BYU players received All-MWC honorable mention. Senior wide receiver Luke Ashworth, senior kicker Mitch Payne, senior linebacker Shane Hunter and senior defensive back Brian Logan joined offensive linemen Jason Speredon, Terence Brown and Braden Hansen in receiving recognition.

"Our players honored are all very deserving,” said BYU head coach Bronco Mendenhall. “This recognition highlights their strong contributions to our football team.”

The first-team recognition is the second straight for Reynolds, an anchor at left tackle who started every game of his career for the Cougars, and has received top grades every game while giving up just one sack this season. Among offensive first-teamers, Reynolds is one of four repeat selections and the only junior on the squad.

Joining Reynolds as a two-year honoree is fellow team captain Rich, a second-team All-MWC selection last season. The senior safety leads BYU in tackles, solo tackles, assisted tackles, interceptions, forced fumbles, fumble recoveries and pass breakups.

Also on the defensive first team, So'oto earned his first all-conference award of his career. So'oto is first on the team and third in the conference in solo tackles-for-loss while also leading BYU in sacks and quarterback hurries.

Di Luigi, the Cougars' lone second-team selection and a first-year conference honoree, is second among all MWC players in receiving and rushing yards combined and was third in the conference in rushing yards per game and all-purpose yards per game.

BYU led all teams with seven honorable mentions, all of whom earned their first conference honors.

TCU quarterback Andy Dalton was chosen as the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year and TCU kick returner Jeremy Kerley earned the MWC Special Teams Player of the Year award, each for the second-straight season. The Horned Frogs swept the top three awards, with TCU’s Tank Carder named MWC Defensive Player of the Year

San Diego State running back Ronnie Hillman was named MWC Freshman of the Year while his coach, Brady Hoke, earned the MWC Coach of the Year award.

The All-MWC teams and individual award winners were selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches and a media panel.



Pos. Player Cl. School

QB Andy Dalton*# Sr. TCU

WR Vincent Brown Sr. San Diego State

WR DeMarco Sampson Sr. San Diego State

RB Ronnie Hillman Fr. San Diego State

RB Ed Wesley So. TCU

TE Lucas Reed So. New Mexico

OL Matt Reynolds* Jr. BYU

OL Jake Kirkpatrick Sr. TCU

OL Marcus Cannon* Sr. TCU

OL Caleb Schlauderaff Sr. Utah

OL Zane Taylor Sr. Utah

PK Joe Phillips Sr. Utah

PR/KR Jeremy Kerley** Sr. TCU


Pos. Player Cl. School

DL Vic So’oto Sr. BYU

DL Guy Miller Sr. Colorado State

DL Wayne Daniels# Sr. TCU

DL Christian Cox Sr. Utah

LB Miles Burris Jr. San Diego State

LB Tank Carder Jr. TCU

LB Tanner Brock So. TCU

DB Reggie Rembert* Sr. Air Force

DB Andrew Rich Sr. BYU

DB Leon McFadden So. San Diego State

DB Tejay Johnson Sr. TCU

P Brian Stahovich Jr. San Diego State

*--Two-Time First-Team Selection

**--Three-Time First-Team Selection

#--Unanimous Selection



Pos. Player Cl. School

QB Ryan Lindley Jr. San Diego State

WR Jeremy Kerley Sr. TCU

WR Jereme Brooks Sr. Utah

RB Asher Clark Jr. Air Force

RB JJ Di Luigi Jr. BYU

TE Gavin Escobar Fr. San Diego State

OL A.J. Wallerstein Jr. Air Force

OL Chase Darden Sr. Air Force

OL Paul Madsen Jr. Colorado State

OL Trask Iosefa Sr. San Diego State

OL Tony Bergstrom Jr. Utah

PK Abel Perez Jr. San Diego State

PR/KR Shaky Smithson Sr. Utah


Pos. Player Cl. School

DL Rick Ricketts Sr. Air Force

DL Cory Grant Sr. TCU

DL Stansly Maponga Fr. TCU

DL Josh Biezuns Jr. Wyoming

LB Mychal Sisson Jr. Colorado State

LB Carmen Messina So. New Mexico

LB Chaz Walker Jr. Utah

DB Colin Jones Sr. TCU

DB Jason Teague Sr. TCU

DB Brandon Burton Jr. Utah

DB Chris Prosinski Sr. Wyoming

P Pete Kontodiakos So. Colorado State


Air Force: Jon Davis, Jr., DB; Tim Jefferson, Jr., QB; Jonathan Warzeka, Jr., WR/KR; Anthony Wright, Jr., DB.

BYU: Luke Ashworth, Sr., WR; Terence Brown, Jr., OL; Braden Hansen, So., OL; Shane Hunter, Sr., LB; Brian Logan, Sr., DB; Mitch Payne, Sr., K; Jason Speredon, Sr., OL.

Colorado State: Ricky Brewer; Sr., LB; Weston Richburg, Fr., OL.

New Mexico: James Aho, Jr., K; Byron Bell, Sr., OL; Bubba Forrest, Jr., DB.

San Diego State: Ernie Lawson, Sr., DL; Jose Perez, Sr., DB; Andrew Preston, Sr., DB.

TCU: Evan Frosch, Sr., TE; D.J. Yendrey, So., DL; Jimmy Young, Sr., WR, TCU.

UNLV: Will Chandler, Jr., DB; Matt Murphy, Sr., OL.

Utah: Brian Blechen, Fr., DB; Lamar Chapman, Sr., DB; DeVonte Christopher, So., WR; Matt Martinez, Jr., LB; Sealver Siliga, Jr., DL.

Wyoming: Alvester Alexander, So., RB; Nick Carlson, So., OL; Tashaun Gipson, Jr., DB; Brian Hendricks, Jr., LB; Gabe Knapton, Jr., DL; Austin McCoy, Jr., P.


Andy Dalton, Sr., QB, TCU


Tank Carder, Jr., LB, TCU


Jeremy Kerley, Sr., KR/PR, TCU


Ronnie Hillman, RB, San Diego State


Brady Hoke, San Diego State