Gray Named Jim Thorpe Award Semi-Finalist | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Gray Named Jim Thorpe Award Semi-Finalist

PROVO, Utah -- BYU senior cornerback Brian Gray has been named to the list of 12 semi-finalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, which honors the best defensive back in college football.

The Thorpe Award screening committee announced the semi-finalists today and will narrow the list to three finalists on November 22. The finalists will be invited to ESPN's College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9, 1999 in Orlando, Fla., at which time the winner will be announced. The formal presentation will be held on February 17, 2000 in Oklahoma City, Okla. Following is the list of 12 semi-finalists:

Ralph Brown, Sr., Nebraska

Tyrone Carter, Sr., Minnesota

Mario Edwards, Sr., Florida State

Dwayne Goodrich, Sr., Tennessee

Deon Grant, Jr., Tennessee

Brian Gray, Sr., Brigham Young

Lloyd Harrison, Sr., NC State

David Macklin, Sr., Penn State

Aric Morris, Sr., Michigan State

Ahmed Plummer, Sr., Ohio State

Mark Roman, Sr., Louisiana State

Brian Urlacher, Sr., New Mexico