Hoffman named to 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Hoffman named to 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.—BYU junior wide receiver Cody Hoffman has been named to the 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List released on Tuesday.  

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, released the watch list. The award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. 

A 6-foot-4, 208-pound native of Crescent City, Calif., Hoffman was a Phil Steele All-Independent First Team and FBS All-Independent Team selection in 2011, totaling 943 yards and 10 touchdowns on 61 receptions to lead BYU. He also became the BYU single-season leader in kickoff returns (36) and kickoff return yards (879). His 277 all-purpose yards against UCF, including a 93-yard kickoff return for a touchdown, is the sixth-best single game mark in BYU history. His 1,825 all-purpose yards in 2011 is also the sixth-best total in the program record book. Hoffman had five 100-yard receiving games last year and was the MVP of the Armed Forces Bowl. 

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:30 - 9:30pm on ESPN.  Foundation Chairman Walter Manley, II, announced that the Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy before 600 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 9, 2013.  Larry Csonka will deliver the keynote address (following a tradition of distinguished keynoters like Bart Starr, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation's fifteen scholarship recipients who will receive from the Foundation well over $200,000 in college scholarships. The Foundation's charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, 2012, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 19, 2012. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at www.biletnikoffaward.com.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Sixteen college receivers have won the award, including Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald. Foundation Selection Committee Chairman Ritchie Pickron noted, "The 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in recent memory. We are expecting an extremely competitive contest among the receivers to win the Biletnikoff Award."

2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List