Kaneakua Friel named to 2013 John Mackey Award preseason watch list | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Kaneakua Friel named to 2013 John Mackey Award preseason watch list

(Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)
Annual award recognizes nation's top tight end

PROVO, Utah — The John Mackey Award today named BYU senior tight end Kaneakua Friel to its preseason watch list.

Presented since 2000, the John Mackey Award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. 

One of 37 players named to the Mackey Award watch list, Friel had 30 receptions for 308 yards in 13 starts last season for BYU, averaging 10.3 yards per catch. The 6-foot-5, 250-pound native of Kaneohe, Hawai'i, was second on the team with five receiving touchdowns in 2012. 

Selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee, the John Mackey Award will be presented live on Dec. 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show at 6 p.m. ET on ESPNU. A midseason watch list will be released on Oct. 14 before the announcement of semifinalists on Nov. 18 and finalists on Nov. 25.

The annual award is named after NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA. 

Rory Anderson, South Carolina, Jr.
Alex Bayer, Bowling Green, Sr.
Ted Bolser, Indiana, Sr.
Kyle Carter, Penn State, So.
Gerald Christian, Louisville, Jr.
Chris Coyle, Arizona State, Sr.
Nexon Dorvilus, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
Eric Ebron, North Carolina, Jr.
Zane Fakes, Ball State, Sr.
C.J. Fiedorowicz, Iowa, Sr.
Kaneakua Friel, BYU, Sr.
Devin Funchess, Michigan, So.
Crockett Gillmore, Colorado State, Sr.
Xavier Grimble, USC, Jr.
Jeff Heuerman, Ohio State, Jr.
Gabe Holmes, Purdue, Sr.
Gator Hoskins, Marshall, Sr.
Marcel Jensen, Fresno State, Sr.
Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State, Jr.
Luke Kaumatule, Stanford, So.
Ben Koyack, Notre Dame, Jr.
Gabe Linehan, Boise State, Sr.
Colt Lyerla, Oregon, Jr.
Arthur Lynch, Georgia, Sr.
Jake McGee, Virginia, Jr.
Jake Murphy, Utah, Jr.
Jordan Najvar, Baylor, Sr.
Troy Niklas, Notre Dame, Jr.
Nick O’Leary, Florida State, Jr.
Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin, Sr.
Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington, Jr.
Randall Telfer, USC, Jr.
C.J. Uzomah, Auburn, Jr.
Brian Vogler, Alabama, Jr.
Beckett Wales, Syracuse, Sr.
Clive Walford, Miami (Fla.), Jr.
Asa Watson, North Carolina State, Sr.