Nelson Named to Allstate AFCA Good Works Team | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Nelson Named to Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

BYU junior quarterback Riley Nelson was one of 11 FBS student-athletes named to the team (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- BYU junior quarterback Riley Nelson was one of only 11 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) student-athletes named to the 2010 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team on Tuesday.

Nelson was the only student-athlete from west of Texas and one of only three juniors named to the team. Three other quarterbacks were also selected, the most of any position on the FBS team.

A native of Logan, Utah, Nelson has started each of BYU's three games this season, throwing 20-of-40 for 205 yards and two touchdowns while adding 148 yards rushing on 31 attempts, scoring one touchdown and one two-point conversion.

Off the field, Nelson has taken part in numerous programs, including the Heart2Home Foundation, the Buff Don't Puff program, BYU Sports Heroes Day, Boy Scouts of America, and other engagements speaking to youth across the state. Nelson was a 2010 nominee for the BYU Floyd Johnson Service Award, given annually to the male or female athlete who makes a positive impact in the community, and is also on the Academic All-Mountain West Conference team.

For the first time in the program’s history, fans will be able to vote for a Team Captain by visiting and searching “Good Works.” The Team Captain will be recognized by ESPN personality and Allstate AFCA Good Works Team national ambassador Lou Holtz during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Dec. 9 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. The site also features profiles of the award recipients and their selfless acts of kindness.

Click here to vote for Riley as the Allstate NFCA Good Works Team Captain

A total of 112 players across all collegiate levels of the sport were nominated for the award by sports information directors on behalf of their teams, the most ever in the 19-year history of the program. From the nominations, a special selection committee named 22 college football players from across the country to the 2010 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. Of the two 11-member teams, one includes players competing in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (I-A) and the other is a combined team representing the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (I-AA), Divisions II, III, and the NAIA.

“Allstate’s partnership with the AFCA to present this award is not about X’s and O’s,” said Guy Hill, vice president of sales and service for Allstate, who also served on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel. “By shining a spotlight on college football student-athletes who demonstrate a unique commitment to serving their communities, we are protecting the integrity of the sport and showcasing its positive impact that extends well beyond the field of play.”

Allstate assembled a high-profile voting panel made up of previous Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members, including former University of Georgia lineman Matt Stinchcomb and former Tulane University running back Mewelde Moore, as well as prominent college football media personalities, including ESPN analyst Lou Holtz, writer Pat Forde and USA Today college sports editor Tom O’Toole. Also part of the selection committee are current AFCA president and University of Mount Union head coach Larry Kehres, 1996 AFCA president and former head coach at the United States Air Force Academy Fisher DeBerry, and Allstate vice president Guy Hill.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service while maintaining good academic standing.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams were established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field. AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need. Allstate partnered to present the award starting with the 2008 season.

Football Bowl Subdivision (I-A)

Name Cl. Pos. School Hometown

Riley Nelson Jr. QB Brigham Young Logan, Utah

Bryan Morgan Sr. OL Duke Hoover, Ala.

Christian Ponder Sr. QB Florida State Colleyville, Texas

Ben Chappell Sr. QB Indiana Bloomington, Ind.

Kirk Cousins Jr. QB Michigan State Holland, Mich.

Adam Kiel Jr. OL Northern Illinois Wentzville, Mo.

Corbin Bryant Sr. DL Northwestern Chicago

Quinton Carter Sr. DB Oklahoma Las Vegas

Stefen Wisniewski Sr. OL Penn State Bridgeville, Pa.

Amara Kamara Sr. LB Temple Newark, N.J.

Sam Acho Sr. DL Texas Dallas