A Place for Winners | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

A Place for Winners

BYU is home to 81 All-Americans, including 47 All-Americans with 59 citations and 32 Academic All-Americans with 37 citations. In addition, BYU is home to six College Football Hall of Fame players, a College Football Hall of Fame coach, the 1990 Heisman Trophy winner, the 2001 Doak Walker Award winner, four Davey O'Brien Award winners, two Outland Trophy winners, seven Sammy Baugh Trophy winners and a two-time National Coach of the Year. Off the field, the Cougars have also excelled. BYU has 15 NCAA Post-Graduate Scholars, including Matt Bauman in 2009, and had two honorees in 2009. In 2010, running back Bryan Kariya was named to the ESPN All-Academic All-America Second Team, giving BYU six Academic All-America in the past four seasons seasons. Truly, BYU is a place for winners. 


  • Ty Detmer, Steve Young, Jim McMahon, Marc Wilson, Gifford Nielsen and Gordon Hudson are members of the College Football Hall of Fame along with former BYU head coach LaVell Edwards. 
  • Ty Detmer won the 1990 Heisman Trophy. 
  • Luke Staley won the 2001 Doak Walker Award. 
  • Jason Buck (1986) and Mohammed Elewonibi (1989) each won the Outland Trophy. 
  • Jim McMahon (1981), Steve Young (1983) and Ty Detmer (1990, 1991) each won the Davey O'Brien Award. 
  • Gary Sheide (1974), Marc Wilson (1979), Jim McMahon (1981), Steve Young (1983), Robbie Bosco (1984), Ty Detmer (1991) and Steve Sarkisian (1996) have each won the Sammy Baugh Trophy. 
  • Former BYU head coach LaVell Edwards ranks as the sixth all-time winningest football coach, posting a record of 257-101-3 over 29 seasons.
  • BYU has had a top-10 finisher in the Heisman Trophy voting 12 different times. 
  • BYU players have won the following national awards a combined 15 times: Heisman Trophy, Outland Trophy, Doak Walker Award, Sammy Baugh Trophy, Davey O'Brien Award. 
  • BYU is one of the only five schools in the nation that have had a player win the Heisman Trophy for the nation's top player, Outland Trophy for the nation's best interior lineman, Davey O'Brien Award for the nation's best quarterback and Doak Walker Award for the nation's top running back, joining Texas, Ohio State, Penn State and Iowa. 
  • BYU and Ohio State are the only programs in the nation who have had players win the Heisman Trophy, Outland Trophy, Davey O'Brien Award and Doak Walker Award in the past 20 years. 
  • BYU has had 12 consensus All-Americans.