Reynolds Named to 2010 Lombardi Watch List | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Reynolds Named to 2010 Lombardi Watch List

All-America candidate Matt Reynolds prepares for junior campaign in 2010. (Photo by Mark Philbrick/BYU Photo)

PROVO -- BYU junior offensive tackle Matt Reynolds has been named to the preliminary watch list for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award presented to the nation's top offensive or defensive lineman or linebacker.

Only the second offensive lineman to earn All-Mountain West Conference First Team honors as a sophomore, Reynolds was a College Football News All-Sophomore Team selection in 2009 after earning first-team Freshman All-America accolades in 2008.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors or by being named to their respective all-conference first team as selected by the conference’s head coaches. The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List will be updated prior to the start of the 2010 season in order to identify those players who have been selected as pre-season honors candidates.

While the Watch List highlights those players who have already received national recognition, any Division 1 player who meets the requirements is eligible for consideration from the Rotary Lombardi Selection Committee. This committee is comprised of more than 500 members, including all past winners and finalists, all Division 1-A head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

The Rotary Lombardi Watch List, intended as a reference tool for the Selection Committee, will be periodically updated and revised through the conclusion of the voting to determine the 12 semifinalists for 2010.

Last year’s Rotary Lombardi Award winner, Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska) was picked up by the Detroit Lions and finalist Gerald McCoy (OU) by Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the First Round of the NFL Draft.

The 41st Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on Dec. 7-8, 2010 at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

A standout left tackle and 2010 All-America candidate, Reynolds has also been recognized by as a member of its 11th annual Preseason All-American Team for the upcoming 2010 season. Reynolds has been chosen as a second-team honoree.

2010 Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List

Sam Acho, DE, Texas

Pierre Allen, DE, Nebraska

Marvin Austin, DT, North Carolina

Akeem Ayers, LB, UCLA

Allen Bailey, DT/DE, Miami

Jeff Battipaglia, OT, Navy

Jeremy Beal, DE, Oklahoma

Chase Beeler, C, Stanford

Nick Bellore, LB, Central Michigan

Broderick Binns, DE, Iowa

Clint Boling, OT, Georgia

Justin Boren, G, Ohio State

Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin

Da’Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson

Vontaze Burfict, LB, Arizona State

Marcus Cannon, OT, TCU

Tank Carder, LB, TCU

Gabe Carimi, OT, Wisconsin

James Carpenter, OT, Alabama

Bruce Carter, LB, North Carolina

Jurrell Casey, DT, USC

Anthony Castonzo, OT, Boston College

Ugo Chinasa, DE, Oklahoma State

Adrian Clayborn, DE, Iowa

Wayne Daniels, DE, TCU

Marcell Dareus, DT, Alabama

Chris Galippo, LB, USC

Cameron Heyward, DT/DE, Ohio State

Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College

Dont’a Hightower, LB, Alabama

Ross Homan, LB, Ohio State

Justin Houston, DE, Georgia

Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

Nate Irving, LB, NC State

Ethan Johnson, DE, Notre Dame

Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State

Lance Kendricks, TE, Wisconsin

Ryan Kerrigan, DE, Purdue

Jake Kirkpatrick, C, TCU

Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College

Travis Lewis, LB, Oklahoma

Jonathan Martin, OT, Stanford

Casey Matthews, LB, Oregon

Cliff Matthews, DE, South Carolina

Marcus McGraw, LB, Houston

Pernell McPhee, DE, Mississippi State

Bruce Miller, DE, UCF

Von Miller, OLB, Texas A&M

John Moffitt, G, Wisconsin

Mike Mohamed, LB, California

Kris O’Dowd, C, USC

Stephen Paea, DT, Oregon St.

Jason Pinkston, OT, Pitt

Mike Pouncey, G, Florida

Nate Potter, OT, Boise State

Jerrell Powe, DT, Mississippi

Ryan Pugh, C, Auburn

Robert Quinn, DE, UNC

Matt Reynolds, OT, BYU

Barquell Rivers, LB, Virginia Tech

Greg Romeus, DE, Pitt

Kenny Rowe, DE, Oregon

Kyle Rudolph, TE, Notre Dame

Weslye Saunders, TE, South Carolina

Kelvin Sheppard, LB, LSU

Quan Sturdivant, LB, North Carolina

Nate Solder, OT, Colorado

Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame

J.T Thomas, LB, West Virginia

Bo Thran, G, Oregon

Ryan Winterswyk, DE, Boise State

Lawrence Wilson, LB, Connecticut

Stefen Wisniewski, C, Penn State

Alex Wujciak, LB, Maryland

Lee Ziemba, OT, Auburn