Staley,Crowton Highlight Cougars Earning Conference Honors | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Staley,Crowton Highlight Cougars Earning Conference Honors

PROVO -- Following a dominant conference performance that saw BYU become the first team to go undefeated in conference play, 21 Cougars, including head coach Gary Crowton, received postseason conference honors.

Eight BYU players received first-team conference honors, led by Luke Staley, who was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Other Cougars receiving first-team honors were Brandon Doman, Reno Mahe, Doug Jolley, Jason Scukanec, Ryan Denney, Justin Ena and Jernaro Gilford.

Head coach Gary Crowton, in his first year as head coach, was named Mountain West Conference Coach of the Year after leading a squad picked to finish fourth in the conference at the start of the season.

Ben Archibald was the lone BYU player named to the All-Mountain West Second Teamas part of the offensive line that helped Staley break a season rushing record that had stood since 1972. Every starting member of that offensive line earned conference honors with Aaron McCubbins, Dustin Rykert and Teag Whiting receiving honorable mention recognition.

The three offensive linemen were among eleven Cougars to receive honorable mention recognition. Rounding out the conference honors for BYU were Aaron Edmonds, Brett Keisel, Isaac Kelley, Levi Madarieta, Spencer Nead, Mike Rigell, Dustin Staley and Paul Walkenhorst.

Luke Staley is one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award honoring the top running back in the nation. The winner of that award will be announced on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show which airs tomorrow (Thurs. Dec. 6) from 7 - 9 p.m. (MDT).