Thirteen Cougars named to Phil Steele Preseason All-Independent Team | The Official Site of BYU Athletics

Thirteen Cougars named to Phil Steele Preseason All-Independent Team

Cody Hoffman has a chance to stand atop the BYU record books when he completes his senior season in Provo this fall.

Thirteen BYU players have been named to the 2013 Phil Steele Preseason All-Independent Team released on Thursday. Seven Cougars were named to the first team, five to the second team and one was a third-team selection.

All-American linebacker Kyle Van Noy was joined on the first-team defense by safety Daniel Sorenson, cornerback Jordan Johnson and defensive end Bronson Kaufusi. 2012 All-America honorable mention receiver Cody Hoffman and offensive tackle Ryker Mathews also represent BYU on the first team with receiver/return specialist JD Falslev picking up first-team honors as both the punt and kick returner.

Running back Jamaal Williams, tight end Kaneakua Friel, receiver Ross Apo, defensive lineman Eathyn Manumaleuna and linebacker Spencer Hadley were named to the second team while offensive guard Solomone Kafu was a third-team selection.

Notre Dame placed a high of 10 players on the first team, followed by BYU’s seven players occupying eight first-team positions. Independent programs considered for the preseason team include BYU, Notre Dame, Army, Navy, Idaho, New Mexico State and Old Dominion.

The All-Independent team will be part of Phil Steele's 2013 College Football Preview magazine due out on newsstands beginning June 18. 

Select the following link to see the entire Phil Steele Preseason All-Independent Team.